Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Fun With Bloggers by Katie
February 14, 2010, 5:21 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Food, Katie

Good morning and happy Valentine’s day!  After reading blogs for over a year, I realized I didn’t know of any bloggers from Colorado.  I was reading about someone’s meet-up adventure and thought “Hey! I wanna do that!”  So I used Foodbuzz and quickly found a few.  As all of us that read blogs know, it wasn’t long until my clicking on a comment, and then on  an interesting blog roll name, and then on a recipe link, etc, led me to more fantastic CO blogs.   And last night, we all got to meet and eat! In total, 4 food bloggers, 1 photographer blogger, 1 life blogger, and 2 readers: Laura, Ashley, Lauren, Emily, Beth, and Heather.  Kathleen was off to a fun concert before we took this!

I thought about what to bring forever, I mean bringing a dish to a regular party is way less intimidating than to a blogger food party.  I see their blogs, I know what they’re used to. Goat cheese sounded great (subconscious effect of someone’s blog food photos) and a little investigation helped me come up with goat cheese and fig bruschetta.  For ingredients, I tried to use local & organic options when possible.

Adapted from Cooking Light, I combined everything but the cheese and baguette in a saucepan over low heat and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes.  As the mixture cooled, I spread goat cheese onto the baguette rounds.  Warming it up may have eased my frustrations, but it turned out alright!

  • 4 oz.  chopped organic dried Mission figs
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1/4 peeled orange, chopped
  • Juice of 1/2 orange
  • 1/8 c. water
  • 1/4  tsp rosemary
  • Ground black pepper
  • 6 ounces Haystack Mountain Boulder Chevre
  • 1 sliced whole wheat baguette (ask them to slice it at the bakery counter!)

As soon as “bruschetta” came to mind, I brainstormed about 10 other cheese + fun topping combos but since there were going to be less than 10 of us, I reigned in my wild dreams and stuck with 2 types.  Second up was pesto + tomato + shaved parmesan bruschetta.  The pesto was homemade in the fall and frozen- it is simple with basil, garlic, olive oil, Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, pine nuts, and pinches of S + P.

I made this one on an Udi’s baguette with thinly sliced Roma tomatoes.

After all meeting via name and respective blog name, we poured some drinks and got to work with our cameras! My camera was having lens envy with all the bigger, stronger DSLR lenses but it was great to be around other bloggers.  No need to explain ourselves!  Emily brought home-brewed beer and a quinoa-apricot salad that I sadly can’t find in my pictures :(.  I loved it and even had seconds of it, I must have been too busy eating it!

A few various wines.

Ashley made curry hummus- it had a perfect amount of curry which didn’t overwhelm.  Delicious!

I love cucumbers with hummus.

Beth made deviled eggs with a hint of spice.  Deviled eggs are so good and simple but they are a rare treat, thanks Beth!

Blog reader Lauren made this dish, I missed the name of it, but it had tomatoes, chick peas, onions, and eggplant.  I would love to make something like this for dinner.  Lauren said she is attempting to make lobster risotto tonight for Valentine’s Day, which sounds incredible, good luck Lauren!

Another delicious fruity quinoa salad that Ashley made with apples and goat cheese (and lots of other treats, check out her recipe!), I must hop on this trend at home.

Laura made fondue and while the cheese picture did not turn out great, the cheese itself had wonderful flavor.  We all sat and chatted while eating, which was definitely good or else I would have been dipping everything in fondue.  Vegetables and bread for dippage.

Heather brought a flavorful, homemade tomato bruschetta.  The juicy tomatoes with the crunchy bread rounds were great.

Ashley and Heather at work.

Finally, we all dug in.. and then had seconds.

We chatted for hours!  After eating, Emily was talking about their beer brewing for awhile and I decided I really needed to try one- they are pros.  This beer was excellent.

A little while later, Ashley and Laura disappeared into the kitchen and returned with magical hot chocolate inspired by Angela of Oh She Glows.

The hot chocolate was made with a coconut milk base and was so rich and delicious, I don’t think any of us completely finished our mug!   I loved eating melty marshmallows and cocoa nibs from the top.

I made it home with plenty of leftovers and treats, like raw dough balls from Ashley and jam from Heather!  You’ll be seeing them soon, I can’t wait to try all of it.   All in all it was such a fun night trying good food, making new friends, and talking “blog” with people that understand exactly what you mean!  We talked about getting together again with all our boyz n men for a night out and I hope it happens! I’m happy to organize it, and hopefully even more bloggers and readers can make it.  Thanks so much to Ashley for hosting.. sorry that you were up so late cleaning though!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Boyz 2 men, lol. Love that. DO not feel bad about the mess. I’m always up late and it was not a big deal. It just looked intimidating 😉 Love your photo of the hot cocoa!! Chris and I shared the bruschetta today..sooooo good! Fun times..can’t wait for another meetup 🙂

Comment by Ashley

It was so great to meet you! I had an awesome time last night…and am definitely planning to recreate the goat cheese & fig bruschetta–it was delish!

Comment by Emily

Glad that you liked it so much!! Do you have the apricot quinoa recipe?! Can’t wait to get together again

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

so much fun!! I’m jealous =) I don’t know any bloggers around me, but I haven’t really bothered to try finding any. Maybe I should get on that! 🙂

Comment by Gracie

Totally! Food + cameras + good people is winwinwin, I bet you could find some nearby on Foodbuzz!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I am so jealous Katie got to meet up with all of you!!! Looks like you had a great time!

Comment by Kelli

[…] After that, it was time to prep for the blogger meet-up; check out the post! […]

Pingback by Rewind and Fast-Forward « Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Ok, I’m so late in commenting. It was great to meet you! I too have to make the fig bruschetta. mmm so good.

Comment by Beth (Mackattack)

It was pretty fast to make, I wanna make it again too!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

