Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Taco Time by Katie
February 12, 2010, 10:27 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Coffee, Eggs, Katie, Lunch, Snacks

Last night’s dinner inspired this morning’s breakfast tacos.   First up, I sauteed a little tomato, onion, and a bunch of spinach.  To that I added 2 eggs + 1 egg white and cooked it through.  After I dished the eggs up onto 2 corn tortillas, I added salsa, avocado, and Greek yo. I’ve used almost this whole jar of salsa on tacos.  I don’t really like it as a chip dipping salsa, but it goes great on eggs.

The finished product.  This had lots of good, balanced components like veggies (fiber), eggs (protein), avocado (fat), Greek yogurt (more protein)… but it didn’t make me feel full.  I don’t exactly feel hungry but I could eat a little more.

I’m going to hold off on a snack though since it was Starbucks Friday!!! Woo hoo, I love looking forward to this treat, and it saves me a ton of dollar bills not going all the time on a whim.  I ordered a misto with 2% milk so that might hold me over a little while.

I packed a snack of half an apple, half a banana, PB, and a little bit of Kefir (~1/4 cup?).

And lunch today is leftover mushroom bourguignon, which I can now spell without checking but I still struggle with saying it.

Enjoy your Friday!  Today is a rest day and I’m looking forward to my first Team in Training group run tomorrow morning.  I’m also VERY excited about the  CO blogger meet-up tomorrow night!  I’m not big on Valentine’s day, so we will probably go out to brunch or dinner and treat each other.  Simple and enjoyable.  I would be so much more excited to get a bouquet of flowers or a small gift on a day where it is unexpected and took some thought (with no incessant reminders from the radio/TV/stores).  On the other hand, I’m not a scrooge about it or anything so celebrate away everyone that loves it! 🙂  What are you looking forward to this weekend??

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Can’t wait to hear about your first group run! I’ll be out there tomorrow again too for another 10 miles! Your breakfast looks great! love salsa with eggs – totally my kind of breakfast!

Comment by Olivia

I’m looking forward to V-day 🙂 We’re going to a state park!

Your breakfast tacos look good. I bet I could make that vegan with tofu instead of eggs!

Comment by healthy ashley

Mmm salsa on eggs!! Have a great TNT run and blogger meet up!! Jealous!!! I wish I were attending so we could meet 🙂

Comment by Allie (Live Laugh Eat)

Mmm, salsa in the morning is always welcomed in our house. Have fun tomorrow!!

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

