Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Tex-Mex Kitchen Staple Salad by Katie
February 11, 2010, 11:26 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Katie, Lunch, Run, Salad, Snacks, Wine

While Kelli watches the Office over in CT, I’m watching 30 Rock out in CO!  Such a hilarious show and so many good lines.  It’s pretty much the only show I keep up on anymore.  Usually John and I watch it on Hulu on Friday so I might watch it again tomorrow, sweet!

Breakfast was some blueberry and banana oats again, this time I added an egg white and the usual suspect peanut butter, which seemed to hold me over much better than yesterday.

I slept in a little (till 7 ;)) so I brought my oats with me.  Parking after 8 AM becomes an intense process of stalking people walking near cars hoping they get in and drive away.  Around 11, I decided to go out with a big group for lunch at 12:45 and dug into a yogurt to hold me over.  I love this flavor soooo much but noticed today that is has 20 g of sugar, which is sad.  Meg on Be Fit, Be Full noticed the same thing today on her cup of yogurt and I read her post right after I read the nutritionals and had the thought to blog about it.  Great minds think alike :).

Lunch was Pickle Barrel and my order included a whole wheat roll, shredded turkey with buffalo sauce, avocado, lettuce, and tomato.   Yes, that is really pale lettuce, not cheese.

This kept me full for hours and hours, which was good since I didn’t bring anymore snacks.  I went straight to the gym afterwards and ran 40 minutes at 10:20 pace.  About halfway through, I remembered I was supposed to be running hills and switched dreadmill settings to hills. Wow.  Great workout!   After some abs and a few lunges and hamstring curls (I attempted leg weight lifting but my muscles are exhausted).

On the way home, I stopped at the grocery store for some yogurt.  An older guy told me I looked like I knew what I was doing, picking out yogurt.  He said he hadn’t had yogurt since he was a kid (!) but he was trying to eat healthier and asked for tips.  So excited!!   I explained the difference between the fruity kinds and the plain or Greek versions and he ended up trying some vanilla Greek yogurt.  It made my day!

Anyway, onto dinner.  Easy peasy things-I-had-on-hand Tex-Mex salad.

I sauteed tomatoes and onions with taco spices and added a serving of kidney beans.

Red leaf lettuce..

All together now, with a bit of salsa and Greek yogurt aka sour cream.  Adding some crumbled chips or cheese would make this even better.

Oh yes, and the requisite glass of wine.  I think it will be standard for my Thursdays now since I won’t want any on Fridays (early morning long runs on Saturdays!).

All day, I felt my energy was great- mayjah progress on my project, a phone sesh with a Bucknell alum who worked at a company I am dying to work for (yay networking), a 40 minute run that flew by, a relaxing glass of wine…. What was the best part of your day?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t imagine pumpkin pie flavor in yogurt….I might have to keep an eye out for that 😉

Comment by Heather

ITS SO GOOD!!!

Comment by Kelli




Leave a Reply

