Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Breakfast for Dinner; Dessert for Breakfast by Katie
February 10, 2010, 10:17 am
Filed under: Baking, Breakfast, Dinner, Eggs, Katie, Original Recipe

By the time my Green Monster digested and I was hungry again, it was going on 8 PM and I had a cover letter to finish.  As much as I would have rather spent time in the kitchen, I do need to find a job! I went with a simple 2 egg, spinach, tomato, onion, and Laughing Cow omelet alongside an English muffin with jam.  If you’ve been reading along, that’s 3 or 4 servings of spinach yesterday!

This morning, my thoughts were all about the blueberries again.  Yesterday I said the oatmeal was reminiscent of blueberry crisp, so I used that as inspiration and made blueberry crisp oats.

First, I cooked the following over medium heat:

  • 1/4 cup oats (I usually use 1/3 but planned on other add-ins)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 c. blueberries (I said I used 1 c. yesterday?? Lies, definitely more like 1/2)

I didn’t even need cinnamon or vanilla with the fruit sugars.  The blueberries added a purple hue to the oats.

The cooked oat and fruit mixture went into an oven-safe bowl and I topped it with about a tablespoon or two of granola and a few pinches of brown sugar, sprinkled around evenly.   I popped it under the broiler for about 5 minutes or less, checking it every so often so it was ‘crisped’ and not burned.  The end product:

Maybe it’s not as sugary as the dessert kind but this worked for breakfast.  I didn’t want the bowl to end and ate it very slowly to savor the crispy top.  I want to experiment and make the top crispier, but that might necessitate more sugar than I want to add in breakfast.

Time to work!  I skipped coffee today and I’m definitely noticing it (it’s been daily for a few weeks now),  a trip to the campus coffee shop might be in my near future.  Or maybe I should go to bed earlier tonight and just give myself the sleep I really need!

Enjoy your Wednesday!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that omelet looks amazing! love the mix-ins! 😉

Comment by shannon (The daily balance)

I love throwing whatever random veggies I have in there!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I love crispy/crumbly topppings! I also love the blue color 🙂

Comment by Katie

In the AM, the small things like purple oats, really make me happy 🙂

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Oooooh, I never thought to put laughing cow cheese in an omelet! Sounds delish!!!

Comment by Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

Oh yeahh, I let it warm up for a minute and then it spreads all around sooo good.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

