Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Tools for a Successful Marathon? by Katie
February 8, 2010, 11:11 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Marathon, Run

Since I last left you, I was kind of unproductive at work.  I have a lot of things going on that I need to accomplish and I want to do everything at once which results in finishing nothing.  After this post, I am going to write down all of my “to-dos” and then plan the next two days accordingly (anymore than that would probably be overly ambitious).

One thing that did go as planned was kick-off day of marathon training.  Like Kelli said, although it was 30 minutes I knew I could handle just fine, I was constantly thinking about what this first session would ultimately lead to.  I ran at the gym since it snowed all day and it was dark when I got home.  The only treadmill left was under a heater, which blew hot air onto me the whole time!  I don’t even like my car heater on because I can’t stand breathing hot air when it’s blowing in my face (weird, right?).  Anyhow, to stay positive I thought of it like this: “it will be warm in San Diego during June!”

While I ran, I thought about things I want/need to buy for training.  Brand suggestions welcome!!

  • Yak Trax so I can run outdoors and not break my leg (snow clean up is shoddy out here)
  • A few more sports bras.  I currently have only a few I can run in if you know what I mean. The others only provide enough support for lifting or anything that doesn’t involve bouncing the body up and down.
  • While we’re at it, more shorts so I don’t need to do laundry so frequently.
  • Socks that don’t fall down and give me blisters
  • One of those really cool looking water-bottle belts ;).  One reason I’ve never run more than an hour in CO is because it’s basically a desert climate and I lack being a camel.
  • Maybe a knee brace of some sort.  I’ve injured the right knee inner meniscus, had a stress fracture, and did something (crashed my bike) that made this happen (a day later) and was cause for knee drainage (yum):

  • Anything else??

I have a Garmin heart rate monitor I must remember to start wearing so that I can see what happens with my heart rate- if it gets better with training or not.

After the gym, I had less than an hour to shower, eat, and make it to “Martini Night” at Chocolate Cafe with my roommate and his boyf.  My favorite cereal ever was on sale this week so that worked for dinner- Kashi Blueberry Clusters.  I have a cereal problem and tend to eat like 5 bowls at a time but I’m happy to report I kept it to one regular serving.

Then off to the cafe, where I had a pomegranate martini.  I’m sleepy now and probably going to bed early rather than getting anything done- ugh!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have a couple of recommendations. I found puma athletic socks (ankle high) at marshalls a few years ago. They are still soft and warm. I must find more, I love them. As far as bras go. I have New Balance sports bras, they are not too elasticy, and I bought them tight and so the girls are tied down tightly! Couldn’t run without them!

Comment by Beth (Mackattack)




Leave a Reply

