Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Just keep runnin’… by Kelli
February 8, 2010, 8:36 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Food, Kelli, Marathon, Protein shake, Snacks, Soup, Spinning

Hi lovely blog people! Oh man, I am in a GOOD mood today! I finally heard from my TNT mentor and am getting the training schedule soon! Until I get the training schedule for the CT chapter I will be following Katie’s Denver schedule.

This morning started out lovely (as ALL Monday mornings do) by sleeping in until almost 7:30 🙂 I feel really lucky and blessed that I get to do this on Monday mornings!! I makes me refreshed and ready to go for the week! After waking up nice and late I made some green sludge

1 cup almond milk, 1 naner, 1 handful spinach, and 1 scoop protein poweder. Unfortunately I spilled the first one all over the counter (what a way to start out the week, huh?). So I made the whole thing all over again and had to consume it at my desk since I was running late. I also enjoyed a vegan chai tea latte which I picked up at Whole Foods this weekend. This was an excellent find!! One cup latte, 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk, 1 minute in the microwave and I was in HEAVEN.

Work was good today. I had enough work to keep me nice and busy, but no pressing deadlines that stressed me out. At lunch I enjoyed some roasted brussel sprouts. Here is a picture of my days eats

Roasted brussel sprouts for lunch, some pistachios, and 2 clementines. This was great fuel for my first day of marathon training!

After work I headed to the gym for a 30 minute run on the treadmil in the “cardio cinema”. The cardio cinema at Golds is a dark roomfull of treadmils that has a huge movie screen in it. Tonight they were playing “Remember The Titans” and it made my run go by quickly. I kept steady at an 11minute/mile pace and I was glad to see that my heart rate did not go above 180. I know 180 seems really high, but thats just my heart and how it works! I can’t believe I completed the first run of the first week of training for my first marathon! So crazy to think that in 20 weeks I will be running a marathon! AHH!

Usually I take 6:30 spin on Mondays and I have been having some trouble with the fact that I won’t be able to take it anymore. After my run I went passed the spin room when class was about to start. I spotted an empty bike in the back (the ONLY empty bike in the room) and decided to hop on. My legs felt great and I knew I wanted an hour of quality time with Christine (my fave instructor!) It was a great decision and I felt great after class!

I pretty much broke every speed limit on the way home because I was STARVING. I got home and had some left over brie (and by left over I mean I hid some so that I could enjoy it by myself later 🙂 ) while I heated up a bowl of Amy’s low sodium veggie lentil soup

Dessert was a mug of Rocky Road! Yum! I like to eat ice cream in a mug because it keeps my portions in check.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Monday! How does everyone out there like to start the week??

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like to start my week with a nice, early morning. I try to make a plan for the week ahead of me while sipping on some coffee or tea =) Then I like to get a nice workout and breakfast in before the work-day begins! It sets me off on the right foot for the week ahead.

Comment by Gracie

Wow that sounds great!! A nice relaxing morning to get the week started right!!

Comment by Kelli




Leave a Reply

