Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Back to the Grind by Katie
February 8, 2010, 3:23 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Dinner, Katie, Lunch, Snacks

How was your Super Bowl Sunday?  John and I went over to my aunt’s where there were tons of good snacks- sorry for the blurry pictures, I didn’t realize until I uploaded the pictures.

Homemade guacamole and chips:

Cheese, crackers, sausage:

There was also some homemade artichoke dip with crudites.   I don’t like celery at all by itself but it’s an excellent dip carrier ;).

The whole house smelled amazing when we arrived because she was making a big pot of gumbo, in honor of the Saints!  I was rooting for New Orleans just cause and was happy they won, though overall I’m just glad it was a good game to watch.   I like football but usually end up getting engrossed in a conversation or eating food or people watching (at a bar) so it says a lot when I actually watch the whole thing.

That was gumbo with jalapeno cheddar bread.  It didn’t seem that dark in the TV room, jeesh.  I also enjoyed some beers from Great Divide. The porter was my favorite, what a shock!  I really liked the subtle hoppiness of the DPA too, which was not as overwhelming as many IPAs are.  If you are around Denver, Great Divide has a great tasting room and happy hour samplings!

I think we were asleep by 9:30 or something, I was so sleepy with beer + food.

This morning, I stopped by Hi Rise bakery for a breakfast sandwich because there was dog puke in John’s kitchen so I didn’t want to  cook.   [If no one was home I may have been really nice and cleaned it up but I knew 2 of the roommates were there so no way, Jose.]

I tried an egg + pepper-jack on a biscuit (aka really thick delicious bread) and I did take a picture but it is TERRIBLE again. In other news, new camera is in the mail.  The sandwich was good but the heavy, sweet bread made me feel really full and sleepy- not ideal for a crappy weather drive.

I ate some leftover squash and potatoes for lunch and another turkey and brie on a slider roll, all spread out over an hour or two.

I feel like a cooking or baking project tonight, along with a run- training, woot!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

