Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Marathon Training is Here! by Katie
February 7, 2010, 3:52 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Coffee, Katie, Lift, Run, Shoes

I finally made it to the gym and tried out my new sneakers!  I ran for 30 minutes at ~9:50 pace.  This is slower than my typical pace for a short distance but it’s officially training time so I am trying to aim for a pace I could consistently do over time and many more miles.  Also, my heart rate tends to get pretty high and I would like to work on lowering it so I don’t put too much stress on it.   For the marathon, I want to aim for 10 minute miles, which I think is doable.  I am working on making a training schedule spreadsheet which I will post- feedback and tips welcome.

My beat up old sneakers, duct-taped together so the padding on the heel doesn’t come out.

Soles torn up by rocky hike adventures this past summer.

After the run, it was back and biceps day.  I’m going to try to stick with upper body lifting as long as I can unless I am too exhausted or short on time.

  • Seated Row: 3 x 15 @ 40 lbs.
  • Lat pulldown: 3 x 15 @ 50 lbs.
  • Stability Ball Ys and Ts: 3 x 10 of each with 5-lb. dumbbells
  • 21s: [7 lower half, 7 upper half, 7 full] x 3 with 10-lb. dumbbells
  • Stability Ball Back extension:  3 x 12
  • Crunches on a ball with a 12-lb. weight over my chest: 3 x 15
  • Hammer curls: 3 x 15 with 12-lb. dumbbells

After the workout, I stopped by Starbucks for coffee- I have been drinking it everyday for probably the past 3 weeks and didn’t yesterday.  It popped into my mind as a possible contributor to yesterday’s headache?  I also had some pumpkin yogurt (so obsessed) with a sprinkle of granola.

Backtrack… breakfast was banana oatmeal.  I asked John if he wanted an egg sandwich or oats for breakfast (he had to work this AM so I made him breakfast) and was pleasantly surprised he said oats.  For the two of us:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 2 c. water
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1 egg white
  • cinnamon
  • PB and flax seeds and butterscotch chips

John’s roommate’s dog Truck was patiently watching in case I dropped anything. He is too cute; a German Shepard and lab mix:

Alright, time to shower, lunch, and make some Super Bowl snacks.  My aunt made gumbo in recognition of New Orleans.  I’m in charge of dessert- not sure what I’ll do yet!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

