Two Lives, One Lifestyle


My Dinner Looks Like 70’s Shag Carpet by Katie
February 2, 2010, 12:29 am
Filed under: Dessert, Dinner, Ice cream, Katie, Lift, Lunch, Restaurant, Snacks, Wine

For lunch, I went with a frozen entree I had stocked in the freezer.  I had never tried it before but was excited to see the good review on Eat, Live, Run a few days ago!  My heart still belongs to Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake as the number one pick but this was up there- no frozen food taste at all! I added Sriracha to heat it up.   Enjoy pre-beer chug photo from college in the background.

During the afternoon, I snacked on half an apple + half a yogurt + Tbsp. of PB.  No pictures though, I was hard at work and forgot.  When I came home, I had the rest of the apple with Kerrygold cheddar.   If you haven’t tried apples + cheddar, stop reading and go do it!

I took this picture as I was folding laundry and those are fuzzy socks.  Don’t worry, they were clean and the apple wasn’t on it though appearances are deceiving.  I rushed to the gym hoping it would be less crowded because it was later than usual.  Nope, everyone is still sticking to their resolutions. I mean that’s great but the gym is maxed out!  Doing the tricep/ shoulders/ chest day on a Monday is really motivating- it’s my favorite lift routine of the 3 days.

  • Warm up
  • Overhead press: 3 x 15 with 12-lb dumbbells
  • Dips: 3 x 12
  • Stability Ball Push Ups:  3 x 13
  • Planks: 3 x 40 seconds
  • Lateral Raises: 3 x 15 with 8-lb dumbells
  • Cable Tricep Extension: 3 x 15 with 17.5 lbs

It is awesome to go back each time and compare- I increased weight and reps on quite a few moves!! I skipped the very last move because there were no free balls.

Post-workout I made a quick tex-mex inspired dinner which included the following all thrown in a pan and cooked over medium heat until the peppers were tender:

  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1 orange pepper (both on their last leg… stem?), chopped
  • Half an onion, diced
  • 2 chipotle chilies in adobo sauce + 2 Tbsp of the sauce
  • 1 can rinsed black beans
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 Tbsp. chili powder
  • Shakes of black pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne peppers
  • 1/2 c. of frozen corn, added in the last few minutes of cooking.

Uh, well, I’ve taken prettier pictures.  It looks like a 70’s shag carpet.

While it cooked, I chopped about 1/3 of an avocado.  Avocados can be peeled rather easily, though I think most people scoop them out with a spoon.  It was easier than peeling an orange.

I topped the pepper/onion/bean mess with avocado, a little salsa, and a dollop of Greek yogurt.

I had planned to make something like this over brown rice but my time was limited and I used tortilla chips for scooping it instead.  The flavor was good, but not too spicy- though the avocado and yogurt probably helped balance this.

The reason I was in a rush for dinner was because I had plans to meet up with my roommate and his boyfriend for martini night at The Chocolate Cafe.  I was skeptical about the chocolate martinis- I would rather eat my dessert than drink it- but I tried my roommates.  It was like chocolate milk, with a buzz.  SO good.   You can see the picture evidence of how fast it was snatched up ;).

I ordered a glass of cabernet and (rich, delicious) vanilla ice cream with hot fudge.  Probably my favorite dessert of all time- so simple and incredible.  It was just enough ice cream.

If you are near or in Fort Collins, you must try this Cafe, all of the desserts I’ve ordered or sampled are to die for.

Alright, it is past my bedtime!  Today went by so fast (yay!).

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] packed more 70s shag carpet for lunch with black olives, Greek yogurt, and avocado for toppings and a wrap for […]

Pingback by Sunshine-y Colorado « Two Lives, One Lifestyle

[…] highlighted numbers are increases from last time!  Post workout, I made a Green Monster that was actually good- thanks for your comments! […]

Pingback by Just Flying By « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

