Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Bacon Peanut Brittle?! by Katie
February 2, 2010, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Dessert, Ice cream, Katie, Lunch, Snacks

I miss my favorite place in the world (Bucknell) a lot and I compare CSU to it often, which is really not fair, because the schools are so vastly different.  I don’t mind CSU, but grad school is not like undergrad, and I just don’t love it.  If you loved your undergrad experience and now think “I hate work, school was so fun, I’m going to go to grad school!!” you will be disappointed.

Anyway, one of the benefits of a big school like CSU is the awesome variety of majors I have never heard of.  On campus, there is a restaurant run by students in the Restaurant & Resort Management program.  I had never been before but Jorge (who I sit next to) asked if I wanted to try it out today.  I brought my lunch but REALLY wanted to get out of my desk for a bit.  So I took him up on the idea.  We both had burgers with a side salad.  Oh my gosh! Such good food for great prices!!  The portions were really well-sized too, which is especially good at lunch time so I don’t slip into a food coma on my desk.

From reading the menu I learned that they use local beef, greens grown on campus, and a lot of other local, sustainable ingredients. I love it!

After lunch, we tried the homemade ice cream because it was homemade and it’s ice cream.  I forgot to take a picture but it was chocolate-heath and served in little ping-pong ball sized scoops.  That was also good and creamy but the best part was the BACON peanut brittle that accompanied our ice cream balls.  I will be making this soon, look out!  Sorry for the misleading title, I didn’t even take a picture, but it was my favorite part of the meal.

Earlier today, I snacked on a honeycrisp and almond butter.

Tonight, some friends are coming over to watch Lost. I have never watched and don’t plan to start (I’ll be applying to jobs, FUN) but there might be fun food and wine?  Do you watch Lost? What the heck is the draw? If not Lost, what is your TV series of choice?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Bacon peanut brittle?! That sounds delicious to meeeee =)

Comment by Gracie




Leave a Reply

