Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Sugar hangover by Katie
January 28, 2010, 12:10 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Katie, Lunch

After my cupcakes and cupcake batter fiesta yesterday, I woke up starving and dehydrated.   I made the exact same oats as yesterday minus the butterscotch chips.  I thought I could probably do without the extra sugar.  Sugar makes me want to eat more sugar.

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 2/3 c. water
  • 2/3 c. almond milk
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 a banana
  • cinnamon
  • Topped with Bee’s Knees PB and flax seeds

I woke up later than usual and had the pleasure of taking pictures in natural lighting- oh the little things!

While the oats were simmering, I packed up lunch- Amy’s butternut squash soup with some peas mixed in, and a wrap containing hummus, salsa, hot peppers, and a crumbled veggie burger.  Now doesn’t that look pleasant…. eh, let’s hope it tastes better than it looks.

I wrapped it in foil for non-messy eating but just realized I want to warm this up and I can’t put foil in the microwave, darn it! I guess that plan is foiled.

I pretty much failed on packing snacks because I have no food in my house.  I get “paid” a [silly] graduate student stipend once a month (tomorrow!) and the end of the month is always interesting in terms of making up meals from my cupboards.  The student center convenience store might be in my future this afternoon.   What is your favorite snack??

Enjoy your Thursday- almost Friday!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ahh I can relate to your “sugar hangover,” and also to how eating sugar makes you just crave more. I have zero willpower when it comes to cravings, so I try to avoid sugar as much as possible. But it’s so hard sometimes…especially when CUPCAKES are involved 😉

Comment by Gracie

Hey!
Just came across your blog and I love reading it! I can’t wait to follow 🙂
I would love it if you could check out mine and follow 🙂
Jenna

Comment by Jenna

Oh cupcakes!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

Fruit and nuts are my favorite snack. Easy.

Comment by Katie

I go in stages with my snacks but right now I am on a Greek Yogurt kick…plain Fage with stevia and a dark chocolate unsweetened cocoa added in…holy yum! 🙂

Comment by Kelly

That sounds SO good and a better way to treat the sweet tooth!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

