Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Zucchini Tuna Burgs by Katie
January 27, 2010, 12:09 am
Filed under: Food, Katie, Original Recipe, Wine

When I was younger, I used to pretend I was on a cooking show by getting all of the ingredients out, picking up a bottle of something and saying “add a dash of this” or “now pour in half a cup of milk” but without opening anything or actually making anything.  This evolved into making my brother and sister try my “concoctions”- they could not be called recipes- once I was left alone as the babysitter (ah the perks of being the oldest child).  Eventually, I realized I should look at a cookbook.  Since my mom was always a great cook, I didn’t cook on my own often but I remember making this recipe one summer evening in middle school after reading a cookbook all day.  Hey, better when I liked reading atlases…

I have no idea where I first got this recipe but I’ve made it several times since then and kind of have my own version/ wing it.  I’m sure you could find something online these days.  But when I was a kid….

The important ingredients to make 2 burgers:

  • 5 oz. can of tuna (I used packed in water)
  • 1 small zucchini (this guy was tiny)
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1-2 Tbsp. bread crumbs

First, grate the zuke.

I mixed the first four ingredients together plus a chopped artichoke before I went to the gym and let it hang out in the fridge. This isn’t necessary, I just had some time.

Before cooking, I added some breadcrumbs because the mixture was very moist.  This will just help bind the ingredients.  Then, shape them into patties and plop into a pan. I’m not sure what is going on in this picture, it looks like I’m deep frying these babies but it was really just a bit of sprayed oil.

After about 7 minutes over medium heat, it should be browned, so flip it!  Add a sprinkle of parmesan if you enjoy cheese.

While this finished cooking, I warmed up the kabocha I roasted yesterday.  I cut off all the remotely green pieces and topped with a schmear of hummus.  Thank you for the idea, Jessie, it was great :).

Quick & easy, unfancy, satisfying, and delicious.

PS- I am already thinking about the next green monster I’m going to make. THAT GOOD. Do it.

PPS- Going to catch up with the roommate over a glass or two of wine!  Apothic Red.

PPPS- Don’t forget to check out the Online Bake Sale tomorrow, all of the proceeds will benefit the American Red Cross Haiti Relief and Development Fund.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for linking to the bake sale! 🙂

Comment by Diana

It is an amazing thing you are doing, no problem! Now I have to PICK which one sounds the best, ohh boy.

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I remember when you made those! They were so good. Why did we never have them again?

Comment by Madelyn

Those ‘burgers’ look great! I had tuna yesterday too, was craving it like no other so I had to go buy a few cans!

And I have a confession – I pretend I have a cooking ALL THE TIME! Yes, I talk to myself while cooking. So sad, I know!

Comment by Olivia

Yay! Glad you liked the kabocha/hummus blend. Definitely something I need to make again soon…

Comment by Graze With Me




Leave a Reply

