Two Lives, One Lifestyle


A Salty Subject by Katie
January 27, 2010, 4:24 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Katie, Lunch, Nutrition

Breakfast was oats again- I was on an egg kick last week, oats this week!

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 2/3 c. vanilla almond milk
  • 2/3 c. water
  • 1/2 banana
  • Cinnamon

Simmered until done, topped with Bee’s Knees PB and flax seeds.  Oh yeah, and butterscotch chips- the most fun part!

I didn’t get hungry until 11:30 so I waited to go meet up with some friends for lunch.  I brought the other tuna zucchini patty I made last night and ate it sandwich style on Ezekiel with spicy mustard- excellent addition. No pictures but you saw it last night 😉 .  I thought it might not be enough (but so far it is, 2 hours later I’m still full) and I packed one serving of this soup with added spinach.

Disclaimer: I’m going to talk about sodium with some cited sources and my personal thoughts.  I’d love to hear your thoughts but I’m not a dietitian so take out specific grievances on the original sources, not me please! 🙂

I try to buy low-sodium versions whenever possible.  In general, Americans eat SO much excess sodium because it is in almost everything you can buy, especially canned and frozen goods, and restaurant foods (guilty).  Thankfully, my mom never cooked with salt and I still don’t have the urge to season my food with it.  I don’t even think people realize how much salt they consume.  I actually kept track of sodium intake one week and it blew me away.  Even without adding salt and eating a lot of home-cooked foods, I was going over daily recommendations.

I decided to bring up this food topic because of this article in the NYTimes last week based on this research paper. How about these numbers!?

“The researchers calculated that the half-teaspoon reduction would “reduce the annual number of new cases of coronary heart disease by 60,000 to 120,000, stroke by 32,000 to 66,000, and myocardial infarction [heart attack] by 54,000 to 99,000, and reduce the annual number of deaths from any cause by 44,000 to 92,000.”

This issue is important to me because my dad’s side of the family has a long history of heart problems (oooh don’t get me started how nervous my dad’s eating habits make me due to this family history) : my grandma ate as healthy as she knew and power walked until her 80s yet had multiple open heart surgeries and bypasses and was on blood pressure medicine forever; my aunt Lori has had heart surgery despite being a healthy & avid runner; and my uncle Dan recently had a heart attack in his 50s.  I think the majority of my dad and his 5 siblings are on blood pressure or cholesterol medicine.  No good.  I might be “young” but I don’t think it’s ever too early with a history like that.

If you’re curious, go look up the nutrition stats for what you ate today and compare it to the recommendations: somewhere between 1,500 & 2,300 mg or less is the goal.  But hey, we’re all going to have days where we eat French fries covered in ketchup.  Or maybe that’s just me and you will just eat some salty-but-otherwise-healthy soup.  Either way, getting stressed about it all the time isn’t going to do you any good either.  Just be aware and cut out the excess where you can!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

