Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Kabocha Virgin! by Katie
January 25, 2010, 2:50 pm
Filed under: Baking, Food, Katie, Lunch

Whew, what a morning! I attended a seminar about tuberculosis with doctors, clinicians, researchers, public health workers, etc.  It was semi- useful for background knowledge into my project but probably not worth the whole morning being gone now!  Especially since I didn’t post or do more work last night.

Sunday Dinner

Since it was super late again when we were ready for dinner, we went out again. I had a veggie chicken pesto calzone (you’ll see the rest of it for dinner tonight) and we discussed the fact that we need to stop going out to eat all the time.  Ever since the holidays, we have been so lazy about it.  I’ll post about this later tonight too.

Monday

I grabbed coffee and a breakfast sandwich (the egg white + turkey bacon + reduced fat cheese + whole wheat English muffin) at Starbucks for my commute back to Fort Collins.  Due to the seminar, I knew I wouldn’t have time to stop home and make food.

I had no idea how long this little seminar would go and didn’t bring any snacks with me so I snacked on a donut! I don’t know the last time I had a donut- fun!  No picture though since someone was presenting.

After the seminar, I decided to go home for lunch so I wouldn’t have to buy something AGAIN.  I reheated leftovers from the weekend, a chicken burrito, and sliced up half of the kabocha I found for the first time yesterday.

If this isn’t really a kabocha, someone set me straight!

It looked very greenish inside, way past the peel.  Is this normal or was it not ripe?

To bake it, I removed the seeds and sliced it into wedges. I brushed it with a bit of olive oil but that was all.

I baked about 20 minute at 350.

Verdict: It was seriously bland and boring. Maybe I was expecting something grand due to it being hyped up all over the food blog world but I thought it tasted just like acorn squash.   I didn’t use any seasonings and it was very dry from baking it- I would love any suggestions!

Alright, back to a very busy day (hm, I have been saying that everyday)!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that’s a great lookin’ kabocha 🙂

that stuff is like crack when it’s roasted!

Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish)

Do you put anything on it?! Mine was just so-so 😦

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

I think that was an underripe Kabocha….There’s really amazing actually! I promise!

Comment by Claire

Try the kabocha dipped into some hummus – that’s my favorite way to eat it. And yes, it looks a little too green.

Comment by Graze With Me

Ooh.. anything is better with hummus on it. I have garlic hummus at home, I’ll try it for my snack later, thanks!

Comment by Katie@ Two Lives, One Lifestyle

[…] Baking, Cupcakes, Dinner, Eggs, Katie, Workout I’ve tried many new things this past week: kabocha, almond milk, and Green Monsters.  Last night, I continued with the trend.. um, sort of, by doing […]

Pingback by Cuppycakes « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

