Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Meerkat Saturday by Katie
January 23, 2010, 7:53 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Eggs, Katie, Lift, Restaurant, Run

I managed to sleep in a little this AM and then made my way to the gym, where I completed back and biceps day of The Fitnessista plan.  Before and after the gym, I had half a banana with almond butter.  After the Mexican feast last night, my appetite was lacking. Clearly I never get my nails done but they are strangely bright white naturally.

At the gym…

  • 5 minute ellipticizer warm up
  • Seated Row: 3 x 15 @ 30 lbs.
  • Lat pulldown: 3 x 15 @ 45 lbs.
  • Stability Ball Ys and Ts: 3 x 10 of each with 5-lb. dumbbells
  • 21s: [7 lower half, 7 upper half, 7 full] x 3 with 8-lb. dumbbells
  • Stability Ball Back extension:  3 x 12
  • Frog crunches: 3 x 15
  • Hammer curls: 3 x 15 with 10-lb. dumbbells
  • Side planks 3 x 20 seconds (instead of the V-ups)

I did a 30 minute rolling hills segment on the treadmill that started with me walking but my legs wanted to run, Forrest, run and before I knew it I was running the incline.  It was a great sweaty workout but I am feeling it now!

After I showered and everything, I was starting to get really, really hungry.  I wanted to make French toast but there was no bread (key ingredient I would say) and then pancakes, but there was no egg for the mix.  I remembered I had a coupon for DJ’s Berkeley Cafe that I bought on Groupon.  If you are unfamiliar with Groupon, they sell coupons with a group discount.  So for this particular coupon, I paid $10 (I think.. maybe $15?) and received a $28 coupon.  Obviously, this is an amazing deal.  They feature a lot of restaurants and spa type of things in many cities. Check it out!! Anyhow, this settled the breakfast/brunch issue!

We had a little bit of a wait but eventually started with some caffeinated beverages.  John had the big mug with a caramel machiatto and and I had an espresso con panna in a wee little cup.


Compare to fingernail for approximate sizing.

Excuse my excessive number of coffee pictures but I was hungry and trying to distract myself.  For brunch, I ordered the Santa Fe Benedict- cheddar polenta topped with a roasted poblano chili and chorizo topped with poached eggs and Hollandaise sauce.  I’ve been to this Cafe before and had a less than stellar omelet.  I went to write a little [not so positive] Urbanspoon review after that experience and happened to read through other reviews, which all raved about the eggs Benedict options.

They were right!  This Santa Fe Benedict was delicious and all the flavors worked together.  I loved the polenta in place of an English muffin and the eggs were perfectly poached. It came with loads of homefries but to be perfectly honest, my purple potatoes were better the other night and I didn’t each much of these taters.  Moral of the story- order Eggs Benedict at DJ’s Berkeley cafe.  John’s strawberry topped waffle was also pretty fabulous (he probably used that exact description).

Since then, we have watched half of Meerkat Manor, season one.  Have you seen this show?!  Sneaky Carlos!   After learning more than I ever knew about meerkats (the Whiskers family, specifically), I decided it was time to be a little more productive today and after this post, I am going to write a bunch of letters for marathon TNT fundraising!  Have a great Saturday :).

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That breakfast looks awesome!

Killer workout today too!

Comment by Matt

Wow. Groupon is about to have another customer.

Your breakfast looks like it was worth the wait.

Comment by Jasmine @ Eat Move Write

Wow that benedict looks amazing

Comment by Madelyn




Leave a Reply

