Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Hump Day! by Kelli
January 21, 2010, 5:58 am
Filed under: Bikram Yoga, Breakfast, Eggs, Kelli, Lunch, P90X, Snacks, Soup, Workout

Sorry I flaked out on a post last night! I got home from Bikram around 9 PM, ate the egg roll the husband surprised me with (he knows all my weaknesses 🙂 ), showered, and PASSED OUT! This week is REALLY dragging and it feels like I’m dragging right along with it. Does anyone else feel like that this week? I think it’s this dreary, rainy, and COLD new england weather!

Yesterday when I woke up I was craving anything but a protein shake! They are delish and everything but I wanted some variety. So I went to another go – to, eggs! I decided to create a little variation though and make a breakfast burrito (sans lots of cheese and sausage).

1 egg, some carton egg whites, shallot, mushroom, and handful of spinach

I melted a little bit of cheese on a tortilla and put the eggs on top

and wrapped it up! It looks big, but there are lots of egg whites and lots of spinach! I was amazing!!!

I then got to packing up the rest of my food for today. Does anyone else sometimes feel like this is a full-time job in itself? I love doing it and I love having food on hand at work to act as weapons against my temptation to hit the vending machine, but man does it take up a lot of time!

Lunch: Amy’s veggie and lentil soup
Snack: apple with almond butter
Dinner to eat before Bikram: cucumber salad with eft over tempeh and quinoa sprinkled on top 🙂

After work I headed to a 7PM bikram class. I have noticed the last few bikram classes that I have had a hard time getting ALL the way through the class without sitting out a few postures. I think I finally figured out why. I have been practicing bikram regularly for about 3 months now, and felt that I was getting pretty good. I started looking around the studio to see who was doing better than me, and who I was “out doing”. This is NOT a good yoga state of mind. I started to get competitive and was pushing myself way beyond my limit in the first few postures. By the time we were half way through the standing series I felt like I was going to pass out or vomit (lovely, I know). So last night I decided to just watch myself and push myself in MY way. Everyone’s practice is different and I think I finally realized that last night. I made it all the way through the class without having to sit out, and still felt challenged and like I was pushing myself. I stayed centered and listened to MY OWN body. I hope I can apply this lesson to the rest of my life as well 🙂

I am off to do the Shoulders and Arms DVD for P90X! Have a great Thursday!!!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

wow that looks delicious. you’ve inspired me to make more omelets!

Comment by frogsandmen




Leave a Reply

