Two Lives, One Lifestyle


2-4-1 Ingredient of the Week: Tempeh by Kelli
January 19, 2010, 9:07 pm
Filed under: Beer, Dinner, Food, Kelli, Original Recipe, Two-4-One

Hey all!  Happy Tuesday 🙂 Today started out with the awesome wifely duty of making my husband a healthy breakfast.  I made him my world famous (or maybe just “my own kitchen” famous) skinny french toast!  I took a piece of fresh sour dough bread and doused it with egg whites.  It was then grilled and covered in cinnamon.  Smelled amazing.  Stephen was not crazy about it, but I am not giving up in the search to find him a healthy breakfast that he enjoys.

This week for our 2-4-1 feature Katie and I decided to go with tempeh!  She made this last week, and I was pretty excited to try it.  I decided to make quinoa and tempeh stuffed peppers.

I first cubed the tempeh and marinated it in balsamic vinegar along with some shallot and mushroom.  After it marinated about an hour I put everything in the over for 30 minutes at 375 degrees.

While it was cooking I cut and de-seeded on large red pepper and steamed it.  I also simmered the quinoa.

While everything was cooking I enjoyed this lovely beer 🙂

When everything was done baking/steaming/simmering I mixed the quinoa and tempeh mixture together and stuffed each pepper.

I really like the flavor and texture of the tempeh!  I have always been a big fan of tofu, and I think I actually like this better!  It mixed well with the quinoa and all the flavors were excellent together.

And a Ghiradelli mint square for dessert!

Happy Tuesday!!!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

great idea with “skinny toast”. if it’s not famous, it deserves to become famous

Comment by frogsandmen

wow. well done. i especially like the beer and chocolate but it all looked great.

Comment by tina

I really enjoyed tempeh when I was a vegetarian. I also really liked seitan. there are some great meat alternatives.

Comment by Beth (Mackattack)

Sweet Colorado brew there Kelli!

Comment by kandkfood




Leave a Reply

