Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Lasagna-esque Spaghetti Squash by Katie
January 18, 2010, 11:48 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Elliptical, Food, Katie, Lift, Original Recipe, Snacks, Workout

My workout today was Day #3 of the Fitnessista Intro to Iron Pumpin’!  I was not wearing shorts conducive to doing ab work on the ground sooo, that part was skipped.  I should go do them after this post!

  • Seated Row: 3 x 15 @ 35 lbs.
  • Lat pulldown: 3 x 15 @ 45 lbs.
  • Stability Ball Ys and Ts: 3 x 10 of each
  • 21s: [7 lower half, 7 upper half, 7 full] x 3 with 10-lb. dumbells
  • Stability Ball Back extension:  3 x 12
  • Hammer curls: 3 x 15 with 10-lb. dumbells

I followed this up with 60 minutes on the elliptical- thanks Kardashian’s, couldn’t have done it without you.

Prior to the gym, I had some Nature’s Path Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Crunch (jeez what a mouthful of a name) and plain Kefir.

After the gym, I had a small salad with tons of cherry tomatoes and a blob of hummus.  Love tomatoes + garlic hummus.

For dinner, I made up a little recipe with a spaghetti squash that’s been hanging out on my counter.

Lasagna Sketti Squash (Serves 2)

  • 1/2 spaghetti squash (not sure what I’ll do with the other half, stay tuned)
  • 1 Italian sausage (I used spicy chicken)
  • 3/4 c. spaghetti sauce of your choice
  • 1/4 c. part-skim ricotta

1.  Halve squash and remove seeds

2.  Cook the squash- I used the microwave for this, about 17 minutes did the trick.  I placed a mug half-full of water in the microwave with it to keep the environment moist.

3.  Meanwhile, brown some Italian sausage (I went with the spicy chicken variety).

4.  Add some sauce to the cooked sausage and reduce heat and let it simmer a bit.

5.  Remove the squash and scrape out the spaghetti-ed innards.  If you’ve never made a spaghetti squash, just dig a fork into the edge and pull it inward.  If it is not fully cooked, it won’t come out.

6. Stir the spaghetti squash into the sauce + sausage mixture.  Tell me that doesn’t look like the real deal!

7. Stir in the ricotta cheese and dish it up.

I might have had a little bit more than that ;).  Tons of leftovers for tomorrow PLUS a whole nother spaghetti squash half.  I might freeze it though the last time I froze spag squash, it was really watery when I thawed it.

Now I’m going to enjoy some Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride and call it a night.

Katie

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

the kardashians make all things possible 😉

Comment by gina (fitnessista)

The gym with TVs + Kardashians is the best cardio combo.

Comment by kandkfood

[…] Run I managed to sleep in a little this AM and then made my way to the gym, where I completed back and biceps day of The Fitnessista plan.  Before and after the gym, I had half a banana with almond butter. […]

Pingback by Meerkat Saturday « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

