Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal by Katie
January 17, 2010, 1:38 pm
Filed under: Apple, Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Katie, Lift, Restaurant, Workout

I was planning to post my workout and dinner yesterday  but remember how I stayed up till 6 AM?  Yeah, well, that was good reason to fall asleep around 9 PM last night.  I went to the gym and warmed up and got right into Day #2 of the Fitnessista’s Lifting Plan.

  • Lunge and Lift:  3 x 12, each leg
  • Stability Ball Hamstring Curl:  3 x 10  (I really felt the burn on this one at the time but I’m not sore at all today)
  • Leg Extensions: 3 x 10 @ 35 lbs
  • Stability Ball Calf Raises: 3 x 12 while holding 12.5-lb weights (there was no wall space to use the stability ball so I just did regular calf raises)
  • Step Ups: 3 x 12 with 12.5-lb weights (alternated legs)
  • Straight leg pullover crunch: 3 x 12 with 5-lb. weights
  • Inner abductor machine: 3 x 10 @ 70 lbs. (this isn’t in Gina’s plan but I threw it in at the end)

My legs are tired today but no soreness.  Immediately afterwards, I had a Vivanno at Starbucks which has protein powder and a banana in it so possibly I really helped my recovery with that.  I usually drive home before a snack or if it’s close to dinner, just wait til dinner.  I know I should have a snack within 15 minutes of my workout so I’ll have to work on that.

I couldn’t bear the thought of being indoors on the elliptical because the weather was so gorgeous so I took a 45-minute power walk around downtown. So many people were out and about! I guess that is what 55°F days in January will do.

For dinner, John wanted to go out and watch football since he doesn’t have cable.  We ended up at Croc’s Mexican Bar and Grill.  It looks like a sports bar but they serve [not very good] Mexican food.  It started off promising with delicious salsa and chips.  I pretty much housed these since I hadn’t eaten enough all day.  My appetite wasn’t great all day but it returned in full force once chips and salsa were in front of me.  We also had some guac but it was not great.  I’m a big fan of guacamole but this had a weird aftertaste.

For my entrée, I ordered a chicken burrito smothered with green chili. So. Much. Food.  The green chili part was good but the chicken was weird.  That is not an okay thing for a chicken.  Some of the meat was shredded and then there would be huge chunks of pinkish brown chicken.  Blech.  Anyway, my rice and beans were delicious!  I think my favorite part was the black beans John had, they were seasoned really well.

We both left feeling full but agreed that we did not feel satisfied-  we definitely ate enough but it was pretty bland and just not great tasting.  We almost stopped to buy some dessert but at this point we were so tired and just wanted to laze around and sleep. Which is exactly what we did.

This morning, I bounced out of bed with tons of energy and started cleaning, doing laundry, and making some breakfast.  Little packets of apple cinnamon oatmeal, you have nothin’ on homemade apple cinnamon oats.

Step 1: Start cooking oats with cinnamon sprinkled in (1/4 c. oats + 3/4 c. water). I didn’t use much in the way of oats since the whole apple went in.

Step 2: Chop up an apple and sprinkle with more cinnamon.  Pop it into the microwave for 2 minutes, stirring a few times.

Step 3: Add apple into the cooking oats for maximum flavor integration.

Step 4: Add a blob of almond butter and eat.

Now I’m going to go run!  Bye!

Katie

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Isn’t it disappointing how bad some mexican food can be? But good mexican food is worth the find!

Comment by Beth (Mackattack)

Thanks for stoppin’ by! I usually have to use major restraint to not finish my entire plate of Mexican… this was a first. So sad. At least there are plenty of places around Denver to redeem it!-Katie

Comment by kandkfood

[…] the gym, I did The Fitnessista leg workout and intervals on the elliptical.  I pedaled backwards on the higher resistance pieces.  I’m […]

Pingback by Purple Hashbrowns « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

