Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Portobello Spinach Wraps by Katie
January 15, 2010, 1:24 am
Filed under: Cookies, Dinner, Elliptical, Food, Katie, Original Recipe, Snacks, Workout

Work went by fast due to having lots to do and I never had my hummus wrap or my tangelo.  By the time I arrived home, I was hungry and I was feeling blue.   The NPR stories concerning Haiti on the drive home were just devastating and then I talked to my mom and got really homesick.  I had a quick cry sesh cause we all need that sometimes and then reminded myself how lucky I am to know where my family is and that they are safe.  Although no one can singlehandedly heal this crisis,  whatever little bit we can each contribute will add up to something incredible.

I really wanted a big fat cookie or bowl of ice cream though clearly it was due to my emotions and I compromised and made the instant oatmeal raisin cookie that Tina posted about today.  I used her recipe exactly except to use one egg white in place of 1/8 c of egg whites (sidenote: what is a good brand of egg whites? I toss a lot of yolks).  Pre-mixing:

I microwaved it a full minute because it looked more oatmeal-ish than cookie-ish at 45 seconds.  The end result smelled interesting but looked like a big soft, chewy cookie.

My first bite tasted like scrambled eggs but after that initial taste, things went better.  It would be fab with some nut butter or Greek yogurt “frosting” on top. My only tip would be to mix very well for no scrambled egg cookie bites ;).  But overall, genuine cookie flavor and a good, filling snack.  After the cookie, I danced around to happy music while cleaning and my mood was fixed.

A couple hours later (it lasted at least 2 hours!), I made a quick dinner to have before a Team in Training info session.

Portobello Spinach Wraps

  • 2 Tbsp red onion + spray or oil for a few minutes.
  • Add 1 sliced Portobello mushroom + 2 Tbsp of balsamic vinegar drizzled on top.

  • Add in heaps of spinach- 1 to 2 cups- and wilt briefly

  • Sprinkle with parmesan
  • Fold inside a tortilla or enjoy on top of rice, pasta, rolls, salad, anything!  I had half of the mixture in a tortilla.  These are medium sized wheat tortillas by La Tortilla Factory and just bigger than a salad plate.

I gobbled it up and then headed to a Team in Training meeting.  If you are unfamiliar, participants fundraise a certain amount which funds leukemia and lymphoma research.  In turn, participants train part-time with a group of people and part-time on their own, with a coach to give guidance and training tips.  For the race, the Team travel and race expenses are covered and there is the benefit of being with a group who knows there way around hectic race grounds. I’m leaving out a ton of details but believe me, you go to one of those meetings and there is no way you leave thinking “no way!” I honestly never, ever had any inclination to run a marathon. Until this meeting. I want to participate so badly but the timing is probably definitely not the best.  Stay tuned for some pro and con lists tomorrow.

After the meeting, I headed to the gym for a 35 minute elliptical workout involving long intervals (4 minutes hard, 4 minutes regular) and some Jersey Shore viewing.  Post-gym, I finished off the other half of the portobello mushroom and spinach mixture a top a salad.  My roommate just got back from Puerto Rico so I was chowing down while he told me about his vacay and forgot a picture!

I’m up pretty late for me and just had another small snack of ~1/4 c. Greek yogurt + 1/2 Tbsp. AB + bit o’ jam.  Don’t mind my attempts at swirling.

Night!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

