Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Another day, another egg by Katie
January 15, 2010, 10:50 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Eggs, Katie

I popped out of bed right at 6 today and did some yoga moves for a good stretch. Note to self: stretch in the AM more often.  I felt great even though I went to bed late, maybe because it’s Friday?!   I’ve been on quite the egg kick this week and after much debate while staring at my pots and pans, I went for eggs once again.

Green peps and onions in the pan.  When I saute vegetables, I use a little spray to coat the pan and then a lid to trap the water evaporating from the vegetables, which helps steam and soften them.

My appetite wasn’t huge today so just 1 egg + 1 egg white.  When the eggs cooked, I popped them into a whole wheat tortilla and topped it with about 1 Tbsp. diced avocado, 2 Tbsp. salsa, 2 Tbsp. Greek yogurt.

New clearance plate from Target, you like?  In order to make your tortilla stay together, use sour cream or Greek yogurt on the edge you fold over as “glue.” Thanks mom for teaching us that one long ago!

I had to stop at the bank on my way to the office and Starbucks is right next door…

I tried a misto, which has less milk (and calories, etc) than a latte but tastes the same.  It’s also made with coffee instead of espresso so I guess that is a trade-down. I asked for one pump of SF Vanilla and it is delish.

For a good read to reaffirm the healthy habits, I wanted to share a NY Times article that supports the “whole” lifestyle I’ve been working to adapt (along with lots of other health bloggers out there).  The point is, eating empty foods fortified with nutrients is no substitute for eating a variety of nutrient-dense foods close to the earth.

Enjoy your morning (or lunch if you are on the east coast.. silly time differences)!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

