Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Thursday already?! by Katie
January 14, 2010, 12:50 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Eggs, Katie, Lift, Lunch, Workout
Before I fill you in on the Bull Riding, I wanted to say before the festivities, I completed Day #1 of Gina The Fitnessista’s HTP Intro to Iron Pump. Wow.  Like Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point who The Fitnessista created the 12-week challenge for, I really feel it this morning! I can definitely tell I did some lifting in my chest and triceps but also a lot in my back.  I think I did the lateral raises a little bit wrong so I will have to review and practice my form on that.
  • Overhead press: 3 x 12 with 12-lb dumbbells
  • Dips: 3 x 12
  • Stability Ball Push Ups:  3 x 10 (And so proud! I loved how tight this made my core.)
  • Planks: 5 x 20-30 seconds
  • Lateral Raises: 3 x 10 with 8-lb dumbells
  • Cable Tricep Extension: 3 x 12 with 20 lbs
  • Stability Ball Leg lifts: 3 x 12 (Loved that they work the inner thigh and lower abs.)

So Profesh Bull Riding was interesting.  It started off like any other sports game with music, loud announcer guy voices, pyrotechnics, and flashing lights.  Immediately after introducing the riders, a very, very Christian-only prayer commenced.  That was different.. not exactly all inclusive but okay.  Before a girl sang the national anthem, we were asked to stand for “THE GREATEST COUNTRY ABOVE ALL OTHERS IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLDDDDDD,” no mind there were competitors from several other countries.  After rolling our eyes at the politically incorrect aspects of the introductions, it was really fun to watch.  They try to ride for 8 seconds and man, they must have a great chiropractor.  They get tossed around like little rag dolls! I was surprised at how short the bulls were (smaller than horses) and how quick they run back into the pen after the rider falls off.  Maybe only 3 bulls charged around a little bit.  No major injuries happened thankfully and the rodeo clown was hilarious!!

We were on the complete opposite side of where the bulls and riders come out of the gates and in person, I could still see fine but there was no way I could snag a good picture.

The good part about doing something random mid-week is it makes the week seem faster in my opinion. I drove back to Fort Collins this AM while snacking on an apple.  Once home, I made a quick egg + veggie scramble.  Red onion + huge pile of spinach which reduced to this:

I added 1 egg + 2 egg whites and a sprinkle of parmesan.  There was also Ezekiel with AB and honey.

For lunch, I packed BBQ tempeh and rutabaga leftovers, as well as a wrap containing hummus, mixed greens, and avocado.  A pomegranate yogurt and tangelo are also in my bag.  I’m planning to stay late-ish today and figured I should bring extra snackage.

Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to work I go! (my great great uncle wrote that song)

Katie

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] 25262728293031 Chili on Repeat, Too! January 20, 2010, 10:24 pm Filed under: Chili, Dinner, Food, Katie, Lift, Snacks, Team in Training Hey how about those terrible pictures from this AM?  I took a little more time and effort tonight.  After a not fun day in the office, I was starving- obviously my lunch was lacking.  Again, this AM was bizzy and was bad at fooding and picturing.  Cereal + kefir x2, added some AB to the second bowl for more staying power. FYI these cutie bowls fit about 1/2 c. cereal + milk or yogurt.  Good snackage size. Today was tris, chest, and shoulders day again.  My arms were burning!  Maybe it was because of all the stabilizing I did yesterday at the crazy-ass spin class I took last night?  It seemed much harder than my first tri, chest, shoulder day. […]

Pingback by Chili on Repeat, Too! « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

