Two Lives, One Lifestyle


2-4-1: Weight Lifting Challenge by Katie
January 14, 2010, 12:30 am
Filed under: Before and After, Katie, Lift, Two-4-One, Workout

Real quick, the guidance is not coming from me, but another blog you will see below! I am very on and off with weight lifting with the main reasons being:

1) I never know if what I’m doing is actually effective and

2) I never know how much or how little to do.

I had “make a weight training plan” on my weekend to-do list and almost bought a few magazines last night for ideas.   As luck would have it, Gina The Fitnessista is a trainer and posted a great Intro to Iron Pumping plan that she designed for Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point, who just finished a marathon!  Caitlin posted today about her first workout of a 12-week challenge and I’m excited and nervous to try it out, it looks tough.   Here are my “flexed” arms before from the front and back, legs, side.  I will do some “after photos” in 12 weeks.  I feel semi-vain and weird for posting pics like this but I think it’ll be an incredible motivator to know others might see my before and after pictures. I’ve never done anything like that before! P.S. I forgot to take these until after I showered but I usually wear a sports bra in workout clothes.

The last view is my least favorite (the lower squarish “lump” is my 8-year-old soccer shorts folded over haha).  It’s pretty clear I gain my weight on my abdomen while I can maintain my muscle other places.  I’m not going to post all my measurements and all that, but I have taken them and feel comfortable reporting changes due to the weight lifting challenge!  I think I’m going to add a few more ab moves in and I will let you know of other changes as well.

Kelli is starting the p90x program now which would be another great program to follow, and in our “Two-4-One” spirit, she will also post before and after.

I will definitely be continuing my cardio and picking up my running mileage because I want to do a half-marathon and maybe some 5ks in the coming months.  Two potentials on my list are:

The Horsetooth Half Marathon on April 18th which is in my current town of Fort Collins, or

The Steamboat Half Marathon on June 6th in Steamboat, CO.

Tomorrow I am attending a Team in Training meeting (randomly received a flyer in the mail a few weeks ago) and the Steamboat Half Marathon is an event on their schedule so that is a definite contender unless I decide to do another triathlon.  If anyone in the Colorado area would like to enter one of these races, please let me know, it’s always good to have the mutual motivation!

Have a good night!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

