Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Tempeh Tuesday by Katie
January 12, 2010, 10:44 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Elliptical, Food, Katie, Run

Better than this morning’s “Tired Tuesday,” eh?   Some of my family lives in Toronto and I love when they say “eh!”    I was able to run outside today in the glorious weather but just did 1.5 miles before my back started acting up.  I really, really hope that it’s my shoes and once I get new ones on Thursday, this back issue goes away!  I felt like I was just getting my workout on so I hopped on over to the gym to do some intervals on the elliptical.  Forgot my iPod= booooring but I managed.  At least at 5 PM there is insane people watching!

As I waited for dinner to cook, I had a few 34° CrispBread crackers with brie and teeny dabs of jam, melted in the microwave.

For dinner, I decided to try cooking tempeh for the first time.  If you are unfamiliar with tempeh, it is fermented soy and less processed than tofu.   Doing a bit of online reading (I’m no expert), the fermented version has more nutrients, fiber, and protein and it is easier to digest.  Sounds good to me.  I’ve seen it prepared with BBQ sauce before and being that I love barbeque but don’t love the non-existent nutrition of it (fatty meats plus sauce that is largely HFCS), I baked the tempeh with some Annie’s BBQ sauce.

I meant to take a picture of the plain tempeh for those who are unfamiliar but it kind of looked like chunky tofu?  Or bird suet?  Okay, I’ll stop with the tempting visuals ;)!  Here are the before and after pictures.  I sliced the tempeh and covered it in sauce and baked it for 60 minutes at 350°F, turning it half way through the cooking time.  Kind of looks like ribs?

After it came out of the over, I wrapped it up with some sautéed onions and peppers and lettuce.

The tempeh itself was very good and the barbecue flavor was strong though next time I might eat it on a roll with cheese or coleslaw- something more barbecue-ish.

On the side, I made mashed rutabaga.  My mom has always made this for holiday’s and I don’t know why I haven’t made it sooner on my own.   If you aren’t familiar with a rutabaga, it is similar to a turnip and is a good source of Vitamin C, calcium, fiber, and other vitamins and minerals.  I like to chop it, boil it, and mash it with some butter (or your choice of substitute) and S+P with a dash of nutmeg.  The flavor reminds me of parsnips or turnips but sweeter.


It was nice to mix it up with some new product, a new dish, and an unusual vegetable.  It is easy to get stuck making the same foods over and over, especially as one tries to change their eating habits.  Trying new things keeps it interesting and therefore easier to stick to the changes.

I had a coupon for a pint of So Delicious coconut milk ice cream and went for the Cookie Dough flavor.  Well, it wasn’t horrible but not my favorite.  The coconut flavor is definitely noticeable in a sort of um, Malibu coconut rum way.  I tried just a few bites and stuck it in the freezer.  I’m sure I will eat it since I hate wasting food but I won’t buy it again.

Goodnight!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Looks DIVINE girl!! Just found your blog, and it’s fabulous!!

Comment by Casey




Leave a Reply

