Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Reusable Curry by Katie
January 11, 2010, 10:38 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Elliptical, Food, Katie, Lunch, Workout

I had an important meeting at 10 AM today so I woke up early with John at 5:30 AM to drive back to Fort Collins (aka the Fort; FoCo).  I popped by my apartment to drop off all of my bags and make a speedy breakfast.  2 slices Ezekiel, 1 egg + 2 egg whites, garlic and herb Laughing Cow light wedge.  I love Laughing Cow on an egg sandwich!  Unfortunately, it appears I deleted this picture prematurely :(.

My meeting went over great-  I thought I would definitely be defending my thesis in March but I might stick around a little longer.  That’s fine by me as long as it doesn’t go too much longer, but more time to search for a job is a good thing.   After that I had a big Gala apple to tide me over till lunch.  Lunch also went unpictured!  I went out with some other graduate students because everyone is finally back from break and I wanted to catch up.  We went to a favorite, B&B’s Pickle Barrel and I had a really different and fantastic sandwich called the Pineapple Express: whole wheat with tomato, avocado, pineapple, onion, hot peppers, Muenster cheese, and Romaine lettuce.  Sweet pineapple and savory cheese worked so well together!

Ok, ok, pictures!  After work I went to Sunflower Markets, which has tons of organic and healthy food options, sort of like Whole Foods, but much cheaper.  I went crazy in the produce section, a little old lady even asked me “how many vegetables do you eat everyday!?”  I won’t always post groceries but I made out like a bandit today and thought I would share.

Colors of the rainbow: tomatoes, apples, tangelos, spaghetti squash, acorn squash, pepper, avocado, red onion. I should have found blueberries!  More green in the fridge:

Green leaf lettuce, Organic Girl baby spinach, Organic Girl Romaine blend (they were 2 for $5), broccoli, green onions, rutabaga,  white mushrooms, portobello mushroom.  Then some eggs, tempeh, black beans, salsa, and 4 yogurts.

If you guessed that all of this cost me $32, you would be correct.  Isn’t that increds?!  Aren’t the apartment counters fugly??

I hit the gym for intense elliptical intervals and a little bit of weights.  To do intervals on the elliptical and stay consistent, I watch my RPMs and try to keep it constant between lower and higher resistance levels.  I didn’t want to run after the back issues on Saturday but it felt okay on the elliptical today.  I will try to run just one mile tomorrow and see how my back feels.

Before the gym, I sauteed vegetables to add to leftover chicken curry from last night.  There were very few veggie pieces in the chicken curry when I ordered it last night so I knew I would jazz my leftovers up.  2 small white mushrooms, broccoli, peas, a little hunk of green pepper, onion, and a handful of spinach.

I added in my leftover curry sauce and chicken and let everything simmer together.  This was the whole reason for prepping my dinner before the gym, so that the flavors could marry, as my mom says.

I put everything in the fridge and then reheated it plus leftover brown rice.  It was so nice to have dinner immediately after the gym when I was starvin!

I might have a bit of chocolate but for now, I’m just rehydrating.  After eating lunch out and restaurant leftovers, I am feeling salty.

Sleep tight and don’t let the bed bugs bite!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

