Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Banana + Almond Butter Oats by Katie
January 10, 2010, 1:55 pm
Filed under: Beer, Breakfast, Food, Katie

Dinner last night ended up being Tokyo Joe’s takeout at John’s parents.  I like that it is a healthier chain and I have had delicious food there but last night it didn’t do it for me.  I ordered a bowl with tofu + 5 different veggies and there was SO much tofu and about 3 broccoli florets and 3 mushrooms, no bok choy in sight.  I ended up eating about half the tofu, which was well prepared, and tried to convince John to try it.   It didn’t happen.

After dinner, we met up with my Uncle Pat and a few of his friends at Ernie’s Bar to watch the end of the Avalanche-Sabers game and have some beers.  I’d never been to this bar but I really liked it and it’s close to John’s: lots of great beer and no need to scream to carry on a conversation.  I hear the pizza is pretty good so I’ll probably be back :).

I tried the Kona Pipeline Porter (subtle smokiness with delicious coffee flavor) and Deschutes’ Black Butte Porter (basically a perfect porter).  I like dark beer by the way.

This morning I tried to sleep in but got the hint from John that I was disturbing his sleeping-in when he asked “are you sure you wouldn’t rather be fidgeting somewhere else?”  I went downstairs to make breakfast instead. Banana + almond butter oats. I added lots of cinnamon and vanilla to the cooking oats for flavor without sugar.

I added one chopped banana into the cooking oats to get creamy banana throughout and microwaved the other chopped ‘nana to put on top with a scoop of almond butter and a sprinkle of flax seed.

I brought John breakfast in bed… mostly to get him to wake up.  He could sleep for days.

I’m not sure about the gym today because of my back.  However the weather is so nice today and a long walk around downtown is in the plans!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

