Two Lives, One Lifestyle


The New and The Old by Katie
January 7, 2010, 8:04 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Katie, Lunch, Product Review

With all the traveling and then jumping right back into work, I didn’t set an alarm last night and let myself sleep until I woke up naturally.  I figured this would be  a good way to make sure I was giving my body enough rest after switching time zones and sleeping erratically.  This is a one perk of grad school but still, I’d rather have a job.  Anyway, about 7:30 I was up and hungry!

Using some of the same veggies last night, I made a 1 egg + 2 egg white scramble.  I started with sautéing one mushroom, a hunk of diced tomato, and a tsp of chopped onion.

I added the egg mixture and cooked until set.  The end result wasn’t pretty but it tasted just fine, especially dipped in ketchup.

I also had a slice of Ezekiel toast with mom’s homemade jam.

While everything was cooking, I packed up lunch and a snack for work.  My snack: 3/4 of a chopped apple (left over from my salad last night) with 1/3 cup Greek yogurt and cinnamon in the bottom container with about 1/4 of Kashi Go Lean to top it with in one of the small containers.   A big cup plus broth from my chili/soup and a small container with avocado salsa and Greek yogurt.

After a frustrating day at the office, I was so hungry for another snack.  By the way, I was very good about my resolution and only went on Gchat once more than I planned.  Sometimes a girl’s gotta send email and then someone chat’s me up and I can’t be rude!  I would have went to buy a Luna bar or something but it was soooo cold I didn’t want it that bad.  I made a snacky plate with about half a cuke sliced, 2 Tbsp. of Cedar’s Garlic Lover’s Hummus, and a few 34° Rosemary Crispbread topped with brie.  I have never tried Cedar’s hummus but it was on sale and I love it! It’s very very creamy, just like my favorite Sabra.  The Crispbread are another favorite of mine, they are great cheese vehicles- very crisp like a cracker but nice and thin so you mostly get cheese.  Those brie slices look huge, I swear it’s the angle!

Lot’s of good eats so far today.  New favorites: Cedar’s Garlic Lover’s hummus (I better not get too close to anyone at the gym ;)) and Ezekiel bread.  Oldies: brie cheese, mom’s jam, and Crispbread.

I’m about to go hit up the gym to do some lifting and running, I gotta get going on the resolution!  Dinner should be an interesting mish-mash involving a lot of vegetables and a veggie burger.  Catch ya later!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

