Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Two 4 One- New Years Resolutions by Kelli
January 6, 2010, 10:41 pm
Filed under: Kelli, Two-4-One

For the first official “Two-4-One” segment (where Katie and I will both post about the same topic or ingredient) we decided to go with the season and post about new years resolutions! I have a few very specific ones…

Bikram Yoga:

I have really fallen in love with bikram in these past 6 months. I, unfortunately, have not been consistent with it though. You cannot reap the true benefits of bikram without practicing 1-2 times a week at the minimum. There is a studio somewhat close to my office, so tonight I bought a 10 class card. This card expires in 2 months, so it forces me to go at least once a week. So, resolution number 1 is to practice bikram 1-2 times a week.

Yoga really is amazing. I am a girl (like many others) who has battled eating disorders, depression, and anxiety problems in the past. I have been on and off both anti-depressants and anti-anxiety medicines since my senior year in high school, but nothing really seemed to work. I still easily got frustrated and would “sweat the small stuff” to a point where I would force myself into a near panic attack. Since starting my yoga practice this past year everything has changed. I can center myself so much easier, I am much more patient, and have learned how to BREATH through situations rather than freak out about them. GO YOGA!

Involve my husband in my workouts:

If I am anything in this life I am a woman who is in love with her husband. Stephen is my best friend, my partner, my soul mate. He compliments me in every way and is completely the “ying to my yang”. Exercise is a huge part of my life, and it is unfortunately a part of my life that has nothing to do with him. While I love the fact that I have this hobby just for myself, I would love to help him become more active while spending more time with him. It is so easy to let the day to day stresses of life and work get between two people who are in a marriage. You start to take for granted the person who is there everyday when you wake up and there when you go to sleep. Communicating and talking is so important, and so is being active. Luckily our apartment has a small gym! This year every Tuesday and Thursday night Stephen and I will go to the gym together and walk/run on the elliptical or treadmill and talk 🙂 I am SO looking forward to this! I am training for a half marathon in May, and doing my runs on Tuesday and Thursdays is perfect 🙂 Of course we will not always be able to “chat” while I am doing more intense training runs, but at least we will be together!!

More Veggies!

I already eat a ton of veggies, but you can always have more! I am going to try to incorporate veggies into every meal. This will involve lots of planning (especially because to get veggies into breakfast I will need to do lots of juicing). This wont always happen, but it’s worth a try!

Continue to Run and to Race:

I really love to run, like really love it.  I have two big races on the books for this year.  The Providence Half Marathon in May.  And :::drum roll::: MY FIRST FULL MARATHON!  In October I will be running the Newport, RI marathon.  Newport holds a special place in my heart.  I went there for the first time the weekend Stephen and I got engaged.  I loved the beauty of the water, the feel of the town, and how amazing I felt with a ring on my finger 🙂  I will also be running several other 5 and 10k’s throughout the year.  I really love races, but I gotta be honest, I really do it for the t-shirt at the end 🙂

So there we have it, my new years resolutions 🙂 With these resolutions I hope to achieve the over all goal of living a happy and healthy life. This year I am trying to “stop and smell the roses” more. If this past year has taught me anything it’s that life is about LIVING. Life is about laughing til your sides hurt with friends. Life is about enjoying yourself and really doing what you love in both jobs and hobbies. After my horrible panic attack at work in July (which resulted in me leaving my first job in a stretcher and never going back) I realized I have SO many things in my life to be thankful for and it’s just NOT WORTH giving you ALL to your job (especially if you hate it!). I always do my best at my job (especially this current one as an investment accountant, because I love it 🙂 ), but I will never again give all of me. Other people need my energy; my husband, my family, and ME!

Once again, happy 2010 everyone! make it the best year yet!!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

