Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Two-4-One, Katie’s Resolutions by Katie
January 6, 2010, 11:39 pm
Filed under: Katie, Two-4-One

I don’t think I have made resolutions before, or if I did, I forgot about them quicker than I forgot about all my work while on vacation.  In this past year, there have been a lot of positive changes in my life and I want to continue forward progress (of course).

Run Some Races

Though I’ve always enjoyed running for the exercise and stress-relief benefits, I have been hitting up the elliptical much more.  I got a lovely Garmin for my birthday and I started realizing my times and all that so I decided I want to try to improve my running times and run a 5k, 10k, and half-marathon over the next year.  I could finish the first two without training but I want to really challenge myself and not just finish but feel accomplished.

Finish my Thesis, Defend my Thesis

I am SO over school and just cannot wait to be done.  However, I spend many unproductive days in the office.  I need to stop checking my Google reader every 5 seconds and limit g-chatting.  At first I typed “stop g-chatting” but that’s intense.  Instead, I will allow myself to sign on once in the AM while I am checking e-mail and generally arriving and getting organized and again during lunch since I usually eat at my desk.   At the end of each day, I want to write myself a goal or two to accomplish during the next day.

Find a Job

I’ve had great intentions for this but yeah, it hasn’t happened.  I’m going to devote 2 hours of 2 days each week to this from here forward.  I think that is sufficient time to really read through the description, alter my resume appropriately and add my most relevant experiences to a skeleton cover letter for each job. My lease and time at school run out in May so it’s either job or move home (which really doesn’t sound bad :-p).

Make Better Choices While Dining Out

I think my eating habits at home are pretty on the mark but as soon as I go to a restaurant, I always feel like it’s a “once in a while” treat, even though John and I go ALL the time.  So either we need to cook more at his house (unlikely, I’ll be honest) or start to make choices at a restaurant closer to what I’d make at home.  Sometimes though, there are just times I just MUST try the specialty or a food I would never make at home.  I’m not big on ordering salads but there are usually other options and ways to make them lighter/more like home.  Or just eat like I normally do and don’t stuff my self.  Why is it so much easier said than done?!

Well, here’s to a belated Happy New Year and good luck to all in your endeavors, let’s hold each other accountable!

Katie

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Great resolutions! I want to work on the school thing this year…basically figure out what I wanna do 😛 🙂

Comment by Jocelyn




Leave a Reply

