Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Back to Reality by Kelli
January 6, 2010, 7:46 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Kelli, Run, Workout

Yesterday was the first day I actually felt like I was back in the swing of things here at home.  Monday was a STRUGGLE!  We did not get home until 1 AM on Monday, so waking up at 6 was definitely tough.  By 1 that afternoon I was ready to crawl under my desk and snooze.

I was so happy when I finally got home!  I went to the fridge to start making some dinner, but it was empty!!! Ah! In my tired haze I totally forgot that we were gone for 2 weeks and therefore had NO food.  Nothing was prepared, no chopped veggies or fruit, no grilled tofu, no soy milk…  why didn’t the veggie fairy come and do all these things for me while in Florida?  Boo.  So Monday night Stephen and I carried our tired selves to Stop and Shop and here is the result…

Oh man, it really felt good to be in the kitchen cutting up veggies and fruit for the week!  One of my new years resolutions (which I am posting about later today) is to get more veggies in my diet.  I already eat a lot of them, but I am going to be trying different ways to sneak in another 1-2 servings per day, replacing other foods such as cheese and carbs.  One way I plan on doing this is adding veggies to my breakfast in two ways.

1) Egg white omelets with lots of peppers and mushrooms.  I cut up two days worth of red peppers, mushrooms, and mango and put them in individual containers to make preparing easy.

This made preparing my eggs super easy yesterday morning!

2) JUICING!  I received a juicer as a wedding present and have used it twice in the year and a half since my wedding.  It is just so dang hard to clean.  But I have decided to suck it up and use it.  I found it to be much easier to clean when just making 1 small glass of juice.  Yesterday morning I made about 4 oz of carrot juice to enjoy with my eggs.

YUM!

After reading so much about Amy’s soups, I decided to jump on the band wagon and buy some.  I also bought a Thermos so I could take the soup to work without having to wait in line for the microwave during my lunch hour.

I had the lentil veggie yesterday and it was GOOOOD!  It stayed warm in my thermos and was the perfect temp when I ate it at my desk around noon.  A warm, thick, and filling soup was exactly what I needed on a COLD day like yesterday!

Another new years resolution is to involve my husband more in my workouts.  Working out has always been my thing, and he never got into it like I would like him to.  We have a small gym in our apartment complex so we decided to go together twice a week.  On Tuesday and Thursday I’m going to do my run on a treadmill in there during the evenings (instead of at Golds in the morning).  Last night was our first workout together and it was so fun!  I did 45 minutes of sprint intervals (slow jog 2 minutes, sprint 30 seconds) and chatted with him the whole time while he was on the elliptical!  It was awesome to see him active and I really hope we stick with it 🙂

After the workout we came home and made dinner together.

Roasted brussel sprouts and tofu for me!  And beef stir fry with broccoli for him 🙂

Have a great day everyone!!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

