Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Chicken French and Family by Katie
December 29, 2009, 9:30 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Dinner, Katie

Another family party! My step-Uncle Pat flew back to Colorado early this morning and last night there was a big dinner farewell.  There was some escarole sautéed in garlic and olive oil.  I almost ate the raw, pre-chopped escarole today as a salad… so glad I did not make that mistake, too bitter!

While that was sauteing, my mom made a big salad with carrots, cukes, scallions, romaine, spring mix, tomatoes, and pomegranates.

She is so fast at de-seeding the pomegranate. I should learn her method while I’m home.

I started the sauce for the chicken French and my step-dad and sister prepared the chicken: dunk it in eggs, coat it with breadcrumbs, sear both sides, and plop it onto a baking tray.  Then the chicken was popped into the oven to finish cooking.

The sauce involved a ton of butter, it would have made Paula Dean proud.. “now add four sticks ‘a buttah’.”

It also involved fresh lemons, juiced by my brother.


Before the oven…

After and covered in the buttery lemony sherry sauce:

There was also some freshly made gnocci

And some crusty Italian bread…

After enjoying the food and some wine, we were all ready for some relaxation by the fire.

It’s a blizzard-y morning and I made a big bowl of oats (too big, I couldn’t finish it!) to eat while I blogged.

Now, time to find a dress for New Year’s Eve, pack all my stuff, and hit the road to Connecticut.  I’m staying there with some friends for the night before we head to NYC tomorrow morning!  Too bad Kelli is in Florida or I would visit her in CT!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

