Two Lives, One Lifestyle


A lovely weekend by Kelli
December 20, 2009, 8:43 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Food, Holidays, Home, Kelli

Hey bloggies!  So that snow storm was crazy!  At our house we only ended up getting about 4 inches (not quite the 12+ they were calling for!).  Stephen’s parents (which is only about 10-15 minutes from us) got 8 inches.  However, a little way East in CT they got 17 inches!  And in Southern CT they got almost 2 feet!  What a crazy mixed up storm!

After getting back from the gym yesterday I was STARVING.  I decided to make a nice hearty sandwich and some sweet potato fries!

The sweet fries were out of this world.  Then I made half a sandwich on pumpernickel bread with spinach, mozzarella cheese, avocado, and hummus.

Delish combo 🙂

After lunch I decided to make a dessert to take with us to Stephens parents house, where we were getting “snowed in”!  I found a fun and easy recipe on Natalie’s blog.

Ingredients included pretzels and peanut butter cups!

I pre heated the oven to 350 while placing the pretzels on a cookie sheet.  Then put the peanut butter cups on top of the pretzels.

After putting the cookie sheet in the oven for just under 5 minutes I SMOOSHED them with another layer of pretzels.

After they cooled off a little bit, I put them into the fridge so they could harden.

Then we were off to Stephen’s parents!  We watched “The Hangover” and played “Scene It” while the snow came down outside.  It was a really great time!

This morning I woke up to the smell of eggs and blue berry muffins cooking!  Stephen’s mom made whole grain blueberry muffins, scrambled eggs, and bacon!  I was not really in a hearty breakfast mood, so I stuck to a big bowl of fruit and some eggs.  Delish!

After a day of shopping Stephen and I come home for some dinner.  Stephen has been studying Chinese language since he was in high school, and even studied in China for a summer in college!  As a result he has a real passion for chinese food, and he often makes it at home.  Tonight he made shrimp dumplings!

I also made some asparagus (how did I end up with so much asparagus I needed to eat before Florida!) so my plate looked a little like this

Delish!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  Christmas is THIS WEEK!!!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Love the new blog – so cute!! And that dessert looks awesome!

Comment by fittingbackin




Leave a Reply

