Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Quick pesto pasta by Katie
December 15, 2009, 11:53 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Food, Katie, Original Recipe, Product Review

After my breakfast attempt, I was a bit behind on time and grabbed one of these Evol burritos from my freezer for lunch.  They are made in Boulder and use quality ingredients. Local, somewhat organic, and vegan- pretty good for a frozen meal. I’ve tried a few varieties but didn’t let them defrost first, which resulted in a stale feeling tortilla. Today I defrosted and the whole wheat wrap was perfect!  I think they could use a bit more filling but tasty nonetheless.  I had an orange too- I feel a cold coming on so hope the extra vitamin C helps.

Source

For a snack I had some more Cranberry Creme Brulee Kefir with a little Kashi Go Lean Crunch again.  I love these little ice cream bowls, they are the perfect snack size.

This was the pink I was hoping for this morning!

After a gym sesh (walking/running intervals for 25 minutes and 40-ish minutes of legs with Osdania), dinnertime was long overdue.  I snacked on literally only four crackers with Kerrygold Dubliner cheese because that was all I had left.  Topped with some of mom’s hot peppers!


Before the gym, I had parboiled and chopped some (huge) chicken breast and mixed it with a little bit of pesto.  I made pesto using a Cooking Light recipe this summer and froze it for quick use all through the year.  It is less oily than the version I used to help my mom and aunts make.  I came home and finished cooking it while boiling whole wheat pasta.

Meanwhile, I cooked up a bunch of vegetables to add to the pasta and make it fiberific:

  • Small head of broccoli
  • Two canned artichoke hearts
  • 4 white mushrooms
  • 1 very small zuchinni
  • 4 chopped up sun-dried tomatoes (added at the end)

Altogether, this made a TON and I will probably be having this for lunch and dinner tomorrow. Sorry for the repetitiveness but, I leave on Friday and have a cookie night tomorrow and research group luncheon Thursday.

Yum, it was filling and the perfect proportions of pasta, vegetables, and chicken.  Night all!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

