Two Lives, One Lifestyle


The Fantastic Lola Denver by Katie
December 12, 2009, 9:24 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Katie, Restaurant

There is a restaurant in Denver that I proclaim to be my favorite although the only thing I had tried was guacamole, a margarita, and a fish taco at a happy hour.  It sits on a corner with a beautiful view of downtown Denver and with an outdoor deck along the front, I was just obsessed (I love sitting outside in the summer).  I had been on the website many times to read the menus and seen it get fantastic reviews but somehow I had never actually went for dinner.   As you might have guessed by this set-up I finally tried the elusive “favorite” last night.  John and I headed to my (ex common-law step) aunt’s house and her and Mark, her boyfriend, told us that they wanted to take us out as a Christmas present.  When Lola came up, well clearly I wasn’t going to argue.  To skip the sadly picture-less review, start below the Christmas tree.

Lola

As soon as we sat down and were served some guacamole made table side, I was so disappointed that I did not have a better camera.  The presentation was gorgeous! And it was just guac!  For an appetizer we shared rock shrimp ceviche, which was an excellent way to try my first ceviche.  Everyone else said it was one of the best they had ever tasted.   Lola is known for their tequila selection but I didn’t want a regular margarita so I ordered a cocktail that smelled like Christmas and included cranberry liqueur, tequila, and cinnamon infused cranberries. I was pretty much in heaven already, “mmmm”-ing with every bite and sip.

We all took our time deciding what to have for our dinner and  all ordered something different so we could share. After I narrowed it down to 5 (out of a total of 9) options, I went with the charred arctic chard, being strongly drawn to the smoky pancetta lentils accompaniment, which exceeded my expectations.  I sampled some lamb albondigas with yam gnocci- perfect winter dish,  escolar and acorn squash enchiladas- my favorite, and mahi-mahi with shrimp-and-grits and collard greens in a mole sauce- I didn’t realize how much I love collard greens.  To make the experience even more ridiculous, Mark chose a bottle of Pascual Toso Reserva malbec to have with our entrees.

After we all ate every bite of food, the timeless “to dessert or to not dessert” discussion commenced. It was decided that since everything else was so incredible, we must try the dulce de leche brownie with cafe con leche ice cream.  Mmmm. I love dessert.  Continuing with a drink per course theme we partook in French press with a nip of Patron XO, a coffee flavored tequila.  Did I forget to mention that John and Mark both love tequila? Just in case it hadn’t been great enough, our waiter gave us a sample of 1921 Creme Liqueur on him. This is basically the tequila version of Bailey’s Irish Creme.  I was skeptical but all apologies to my whiskey-loving Irish family, I do believe this was better than Bailey’s.  Our perfect meal was followed by a bit more tequila and a bit more wine at a bar around the corner (not the best life decisions) and then a few rounds of cards back at Jen’s house.

Only picture of the night sadly

When we woke up, neither John nor I were exactly at our best and neither of us had much of an appetite.  When I finally felt like eating (tequila and red wine don’t pair well!) I wanted something light and refreshing and he suggested Jamba juice.  It was nice enough to sit outside!

Acai, bluberry, banana, soy milk topped with sliced bananas and granola (vegan)

After running errands and enjoying the nice weather with a walk downtown, we were hungry for dinner or whatever meal it was at 4:30 and ended up at Park Burger, which has been on my Urbanspoon wishlist along with Lola. I actually had never been to Jamba Juice either so 3 new restaurants in 24 hours, lucky girl! I tried the house-made veggie burger with Brie.  It was a delicious way to get some vegetables in and the mild Brie didn’t overpower.  But when is Brie not perfect?



Look at those veggies!

Fries always make my stomach hurt (along with most fried foods) but I can’t help falling in love..

A quarter of my burger and half the fries are waiting to be rescues from the refrigerator later tonight.  Time to watch Mad Men and go to bed at 9!  Tomorrow evening, we are attending a “Wine and Weim” ugly sweater party- wear funny holiday themed clothes, sample wine, play with doggies, and donate to Weimaraner Rescue. All activities I support.

Katie

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Katie and Kelli! Thanks so much for the comment on my blog. This is such an interesting concept–I wish I had a friend to blog with 🙂 I’ll be back for some more 2 lives reading!

Comment by Allie (Live Laugh Eat)

[…] finally packing up to head to Denver (John is driving me to the airport tomorrow), we stopped at Lola for happy hour fun since we won’t see each other for about two weeks.  Plus I totally wanted […]

Pingback by Kefir, Lola, and Pasta again « Two Lives, One Lifestyle




Leave a Reply

