Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Coming out of the blog closet by Katie
December 11, 2009, 7:32 pm
Filed under: Food, Katie, Lift

I just got back from the gym where I did a great leg/arm workout.  I like doing both simultaneously because it gets my heart rate revved up, saves time, and I have to work much harder.  Part of this is from the leg workout I do with my friend Osdania (she has a trainer that made it for her) and part I just made up.  I like trying different things all the time to keep working new muscles.  I will share my workout at the end of the post, though I want to point out that I’m not a trainer or anything!

This morning, I packed for Denver so I can leave right from my office and drive in daylight/ before the highway is full of black ice.  I had a lot to use and I pulled everything out. It went from this:

To this:

There was a 1 egg + 2 egg white + tomato + cheddar scramble and a piece of toast with my mom’s homemade jam too but my phone (i.e. camera) froze and I didn’t want to wait for it to restart.  Also, the wonder bread and wine are my roommates and did not get involved in my breakfast or lunch.  On the left we have half an apple + what was left in the yogurt container + almond butter, on the right a big ol’ salad with lots of stuff including leftover tuna from last night, and in the mug some Celestial Seasonings Sugar Cookie tea. Oh my, my car smelled like I was baking cookies in my engine!

Tonight, John and I are going on a double date with my aunt Jen and her boyfriend Mark.  Not sure what we are doing but I do know it will involve food and wine. I’m also not sure about pictures. Since my camera phone requires a lot of lighting for good pictures, it will be tough if we are in a restaurant. Also, I haven’t come out of the hypothetical blog closet to most of my friends or family yet.  I can’t figure out why I feel so awkward about sharing it with people I actually know but not with complete strangers.  I did email my mom today since otherwise she might find my picture taking pretty bizarre next week!

Katie

For your enjoyment on a Friday night… Alf, in front on a picture on my desk.

PS: A leg workout.

3 sets of 15 reps each, 1 minute rest between sets but not between each exercise

  • Alternating leg lunges (I did 16 so I was even!) while doing shoulder presses with 10 lb. free weights.  Kind of like this but I didn’t walk.
  • Squats with 8 lb. free weights in each hand.  I started with arms at my sides and then lifted them in a v-shaped motion up to 90° in front of me so that they touch.  I apologize for having no idea what this is called.
  • Step-ups (about 6 inches?) while doing overhead tricep extensions with one 15 lb. free weight.

Again, 3 sets of 15 reps and a minute rest after each set

  • Squats with bicep curls using 10 lb. free weights.
  • Lunges ( I do 10 on each side for this instead of alternating) with 5 lb. free weights, starting with weights at my side and lifting them to a “T” position
  • Burpees (I look just like this girl in the video).  I don’t always get in a full push-up but just kind of a plank 😉 I also only did 10 of these… they are TOUGH!

Then…

  • Inner abductor machine with 85 lbs.
  • Outer absudtor machine with 85 lbs.
  • Butt squeezers.. probably not the right name but an accurate name nonetheless

I did ab work too but I basically roll around doing random moves for this.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

