Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Thursday Shmursday by Katie
December 10, 2009, 10:58 pm
Filed under: Dinner, Katie, Operation Beautiful

Is this week dragging for anyone else??  So glad it’s almost Friday!  It finally made it up past 20° today!  When I got to work I mentioned that the walk from my car to my office felt so much warmer and my friend Heath informed me it was 5°F.   Totally a “you don’t know what you got ’til it’s gone” feeling.  But ultimately I had such a productive day- love when that happens!

I forgot to mention a few things that happened between breakfast and lunch.  Oh hey little loves of my life..

Usually I make my own coffee to save $$ but I could not sleep last night and wanted extra caffeine in the AM: Americano with 1/2 packet of Sugar in the Raw and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  I also posted my first Operation Beautiful note around this time but no picture, sorry!  It’s finals week (I had no real classes this semester, just seminars= no finals!)  so I wrote “You are smart and beautiful and totally rocking those finals!” and stuck it in the bathroom.  I also just realized this was the first time in 6+ years I didn’t have to go crazy with finals!

After my productive day at the office, I chopped up half an apple and microwaved for 1 minute.  I topped it with a tablespoon of almond butter (just ground!) and probably 1/8 cup of Greek yogurt.

This was perfect fuel for a perfect spin class.  I hadn’t been in awhile and the playlist was right up my alley, ending with some sprints to fist-pumping techno.  Love techno. And sweaty frat basement parties.  Well I’m not really sure about the second part anymore.

I came home and played “what can I use up in my fridge before I go to Denver tomorrow?”  I ended up with an open faced tuna melt and oven-roasted carrots.  For the tuna, I combined one can white albacore packed in water + 1 Tbsp light mayo + 2 Tbsp Greek yogurt + 2 tsp. dijon mustard + 2 chopped artichokes.  I don’t like crunchies in my tuna. Then I stacked thin tomato slices, half the tuna mixture (other half for lunch tomorrow), and a few slices cheddar cheese on top of whole wheat bread.  I started this on the stove but moved it to under the broiler for better cheese meltage.  Just keep an eye on it, cooks fast under that broiler!

The final product:

Before I started this, I chopped a bag of carrots and threw them in the 375° oven for about 30 minutes, giving them a few stirs.  They weren’t done when I ate my sandwich so I didn’t get a picture of my little portion.  Tons of leftovers though so perhaps you will be lucky enough to see sliced carrots tomorrow! 😉

I wanted something else after dinner but couldn’t put my finger on it.  I poured a little of this New Belgium beer but it isn’t really doing it for me and I don’t know if I’ll finish it.  New Belgium is a beer company in Fort Collins and next time I go on a tasting and tour, I will do a full fledged post on it because it is an incredible company with delicious beers!!

Anyone have fun plans for this weekend?  I need to find an “ugly sweater” themed worthy outfit.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Tuuuna melt! Yummy! I’m the opposite of you, though- I ADORE crunchies in my tuna 🙂

If you have a KMart, I promise you will find UGLY holiday sweaters there!

Comment by savoringsarah

Ohh totally forgot about Kmart good call!

Comment by kandkfood

That tuna melt it right up my alley! I have plans to go Christmas shopping for my husband this weekend. He’s so hard to shop for!

Comment by Meg




Leave a Reply

