Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Warm me up butternut by Kelli
December 9, 2009, 12:38 am
Filed under: Dinner, Kelli

Hey all!  I hope your Tuesday was fanat-bulous 🙂  Work was crazy today!  I love those days though, because they go by super fast!

I came home tonight and got right to work on my butternut squash soup!  It is super cold here and is probably going to snow over night, so warm soup was perfect.

Classic Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil
2/3 cup diced carrot (about 1 (8-inch) large carrot)
1/2 cup diced celery (about 1 (11-inch) large stalk)
2/3 cup diced onion (about 1 medium onion)
4 cups cubed butternut squash (about 1 medium squash)
1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
4 to 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
Sea salt and ground black pepper, to taste

My celery had gone horribly bad, so needless to say it was not used!

Heat olive oil in large soup pot.  Dice carrots and onions and add to oil.  At this point I also added some garlic.  I like me some garlic 🙂

After the veggies in the pot are nice and soft, add butternut squash, chicken broth and thyme.

Bring to a boil.  After it boils reduce heat and let simmer until squash is tender and you can push a fork through it.  The recipe says it will take about 30 minutes, but mine was nice and soft after just 20.  Then all there is left to do is puree and enjoy!!!

Since my food processor is tini tiny I used the good ol’ blender to puree all the ingredients

I put about 1 cup in a bowl and sprinkled it with cinnamon, some slivered almonds, and a small amount of goat cheese.

O.M.G. this was good!  Next time I will add a little more garlic and possibly some more cinnamon, but wow!  It was DELISHHH.  The husband had soup along with steak and a baked potato.  Boys will be boys, and boys need their MEAT, apparently 🙂

I was also greeted with several packages at my door when I get home!  I ordered some great Christmas presents for my adorable nephew (you can read about him here!) and if I spent $10 I would get free shipping.  So what did I buy?  A cookbook!

I have only dabbled in the whole raw food thing so far.  So I am pretty excited to try some of these recipes 🙂  I can’t promise anything though, raw cold food during a New England winter might not always sound appetizing!

I am off to decorate the apartment for CHRISTMAS!!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

