Two Lives, One Lifestyle


McShultz by Katie
December 9, 2009, 1:30 pm
Filed under: Food, Katie

I grew up in Upstate NY and am no stranger to terrible, long, dragging, gray, dreary winters but this freakish cold is unbearable! I had to be in the Engineering Building by 8 AM and it was -14°F when I left my house.  I’m no mechanic but the noises my car made as I attempted to start it were just not okay.  A lot of people have a perception of Colorado as freezing and covered in snow all the time but that is usually only the mountains.  The “front range” where Denver and Fort Collins are located might get a few bad winter storms but usually we have sunshine and temps above freezing.

Due to some delays in starting/scraping/warming up my car, I ran out of time and had a bagel for breakfast at the 8 AM meeting.  I love bagels but 1) I haven’t found any as good as those on the east coast and 2) they never keep me full.  I packed some oatmeal for my lunch along with an apple and orange if I get snacky.  While I got ready, I simmered the following for about 15 minutes:

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. raisins

I put it all in a container and added half a chopped frozen banana and maybe 1/4 cup Greek yogurt to add some protein.  For some extra goodness, I brought along peanut butter and a few butterscotch chips to add in.  Good thing my Bucknell coffee mug was there to cheer up those gorgeous yellow-brown shades

As I’ve mentioned, I get to go home for the holidays in ten days- and to the warmth of Rochester. There is something no one’s said before!    Aside from my seeing family, friends, and Wegmans (yes a grocery store gets ranked with people), I cannot wait to meet my new “little brother” as my mom refers to him.  I have an actual little brother and when my mom excitedly told me my “little brother got an apartment!”, I was pretty shocked since my actual brother is 17. What she meant was the puppy “brother” got a new crate.  While I am home, I will post many entertaining things my mom says.  Thanks to my sister Madelyn for this pic!

Mr. McShultz: German Shorthair Pointer (Shultz) with a shamrock shaped spot on his butt (Mc)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Are butterscotch chips vegan? If they are, I am all over melting those in my oatmeal! What a great idea!!

Comment by Kinzie

The ones I used are definitely not (just checked out the ingredients), but I bet they are out there somewhere! I’ll look at some other brands because even thought I’m not vegan there are some weird ingredients in these ones.
-Katie

Comment by kandkfood




Leave a Reply

