Two Lives, One Lifestyle


I <3 Mondays by Kelli
December 8, 2009, 2:44 am
Filed under: Dinner, Kelli

I know , I know.  Monday’s are supposed to be the worst day of the week, but I really love them lately.  I am normally a “workout in the morning super early” type of person, but Monday’s I always start my day of slow by sleeping in, making myself breakfast, and really getting myself mentally ready for the week.  This morning I enjoyed some yoga, deep breathing, and oatmeal! Oats, soy milk, peanut butter, a banana, and some blueberries!

On this particular morning I also used my new kitchen “toy”, a crock pot!!!  This crock pot was a gift for my birthday from my parents and I have been SO excited to use it!  When I saw this recipe on Kath Eats Real Food last week I knew I would use it for my first attempt at using the slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Cuban Braised Beef with Peppers

  • 1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 red bell peppers, sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 1 onion, cut into 8 wedges
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds flank steak, cut crosswise into thirds
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves

In a 5 quart slow cooker, combine all ingredients (except avocado and cilantro leaves) and nestle beef among the veggies.  Cook on low for 8 hours (this was my option because of the whole having to work all day thing)

Serve over white or brown rice and enjoy!

Now I am someone who has a husband who is VERY picky about his food.  And by picky I mean doesn’t like over half the food I love to eat.  He is not a fan of the “texture” of some veggies and fruits, and I have searched long and hard to find healthy recipes that this boy of mine will actually eat and ENJOY eating.  What I have done with many recipes that call for veggies that he does not like is put them in the food processor.  I have also been known to food process or blend spinach, kale, and other greens into pasta sauce without saying anything (sneaky sneaky 🙂 ).  That being said, I put every veggie that this recipe called for in the food processor before putting them in the slow cooker.  I believe the beef was a big hit in the Peters house 🙂

I was so hungry after spinning that I gobbled up my bowl without taking a picture!  I need to get used to this food blogging thing and learn to take more pictures!!!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Monday!!!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Glad you guys liked the beef recipe!!

Comment by Kath




Leave a Reply

