Two Lives, One Lifestyle


Blogging is too fun! by Katie
December 8, 2009, 8:14 pm
Filed under: Katie

I’m like a kid with a new toy! I must do more REAL work and stop playing on the blog this afternoon.  I couldn’t say exactly why but taking pictures of food is really fun.. though I’m clearly in good company!

Since I cook for just myself all week, I freeze a lot of leftovers.  I’m going to eat up a bunch of these frozen goods over the next week as I attempt minimal grocery shopping prior to heading home for the holidays.  Today for lunch, I heated up vegetable curry I made and froze about 2 weeks ago.  Curry is quite easy to make (at least if you use curry paste, as I do!) and you can use just about any vegetable.   In the mix:

  • Coconut milk + curry paste + a few splashes of soy sauce
  • Acorn squash
  • Cremini mushrooms
  • White onion
  • Spinach
  • Peas (my favorite vegetable to put in curry)

This was the first time I added squash and it went well with the flavors.  To start, I sliced the acorn squash and roasted it in the oven, removing the peel after it cooled.  I sauteed the mushrooms, spinach, and onions for about 5-10 minutes and then added the acorn squash and peas over low heat.  Next, I brought coconut milk to a boil, reduced heat, and whisked in curry paste and soy sauce to taste.  The more paste, the spicier! I poured the sauce over the veggies and let it  simmer for about 10 minutes so the flavors could absorb.   I like my vegetables to be on the softer side but if you want them crisp, then just reduce cooking time.  Depending on my other eats or activities for the day, I eat it over rice or just plain.  I’m planning on an intense gym session tonight with my friend Osdania so I cooked some brown rice.  Here is the reheated product:

Seasoned with some of this:

While I waited for the rice to cook, I snacked on a little plain Sabra hummus and Kashi crackers.

As you will come to notice, I have a hard time finishing a meal without a sweet!  These came in a care package from my stepmom with the snowman towel.

Now for some real work!

Katie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

