Two Lives, One Lifestyle


My first post! by Kelli
December 5, 2009, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Baking, Kelli

Hi all, Kelli here 🙂 For my first post I decided to do something a little out of the ordinary for me, BAKE!  I am not much of a baker.  I have always shied away because of all the butter, shortning, and sugar.  Cake and cookies are tempting enough when they are OUTSIDE my house, let alone homemade in my kitchen!  But when I found this banana bread at Post Punk Kitchen I knew it was perfect for my first post!

Ingredients
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cups white sugar
1/2 cup margarine, at room temp
3 very ripe bananas, mashed well
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup vanilla soy milk, mixed with 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon salt

*note: I did not have any all spice or apple cider vinegar.  Oops!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an with cooking spray.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt, and spices

Cream together margarine and sugars, Add bananas, soy milk and vanilla.

Add wet ingredients to the dry.  Mix well. Pout batter into pan.  Bake for an hours*

*note: Because of our recent move I couldn’t find my bread pan.  I used a cake pan instead and adjusted the cooking time to around 30 minutes (when I could put a tooth pick through the middle and it came out clean).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

